We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely hotel and surroundings”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon.
Our suite the brock suite was unbelievable, having stayed and worked in a 5* hotel before i didn't think that i could stay anywhere nicer but this was def the best room i've stayed in.

Lovely seperate living area/bedroom, tv in both rooms. Bathroom was large with a seperate shower, 2 sinks, wc and bath (with lights incorporated into it)

We couldn't have timed our stay any better with the air show being on so we sat and watched it through our window and then watched the red arrows from the magnificent pool area.

The pool area was excellent with wonderful views of the mourne mountains and the sea. Great on a cold rainy day (as was our second day)


Meal in the oaks was ok, we were expecting the buffet on the sat night as stating on our booking form but apparently this has now stopped some two years ago. Wine was on average £40-60 a bottle on not being a big drinker we had to ask for a per glass wine list and if you want bread with your soup be sure to ask for it.

Check in and check out was effortless.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear JO B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience and congratulations on your marriage, we wish you a lifetime of happiness together. We are delighted you loved your room, it offers great space to relax and unwind.

I am sorry to hear about the mix up with The Oak booking and how you were advised it was a Buffet but this has long since stopped, however we do hold a Sunday Buffet if you ever do come again.

We are glad you enjoyed the Air Show it was a great success and the weather was great. It is lovely to hear you had time to avail of our pool, we hoped you enjoyed this.

We pride ourselves in offering great customer service and a place where our guests can relax and we are happy you experienced this right through.

Many thanks for you feedback and for choosing Hastings Hotels.

Kind regards


Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Hastings Slieve Donard Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,768
    569
    321
    185
    90
See reviews for
600
1,451
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Been going here from my first anniversary in 1992. Always an amazing stay. Luxurious and welcoming. Food beautiful. Breakfast sets you up for the day. Rooms beautiful and so comfortable. Beds are unbelievable. The staff are friendly allways attentive and pleasant. Downsides the breakfast is Buffett so limitless not good for the waistline. Just love this place
The pool and sauna have maybe the best view a spa can have the mountains of mourne. We'll be back. Again and again and again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harrygmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Wedding -
Went to a wedding in the Slieve Donard and it was beautiful - the surrounding are excellent although the food at the wedding wasn't as good as I would have expected. All food served plated with quite small portions. The food at the evening do was lovely but unfortunately by the time it was server the chicken was look warm and the chips were cold.

Room-
The lightening in the room was broken but when we said to reception they had it fixed straight away. However it didn't work the next morning again. The room was a really good size for a standard double with tea, coffee, biscuits and bottles of water.

Health Suite-
The Health Suite was lovely! Jacuzzi and sauna overlooking the beach - very clean and really relaxing. The only downside was the steam room - I'm not sure if it was working. There wasn't much steam and it smelt like an old musty wet room.

Staff-
The staff were fantastic! The girl on reception (Irene) was so helpful and welcoming. The staff on the bar at the wedding were very polite and professional (Neill had server us most of the night and he was brilliant!).

Overall -
Beautiful hotel, gorgeous room for a wedding and the staff were excellent. The bedroom was a really good size but it was quite pricey (£180) and there was no discount available even tho I was party of the wedding party. Food at the wedding could have been better but I personally prefer silver service at a wedding.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ing91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Two weeks of bountiful blessings from the Concierge to the Maitre D', from the wait staff to the Reception Desk made marvelous memories. See our June 14-29 blog: whereisronnow.blogspot.com; thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms with a waterfront view are a kaleidescope of change watching the tide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Today we stayed in The Slieve Donard Hotel again to watch The Air Display featuring the last remaining flying Vulcan, The Red Arrow's of course and a EuroFighter Typhoon to mention just a few.
We arrived early to avoid any traffic jams and the thousands of people descending upon Newcastle for the main event of week long festival.
We checked in and were promptly shown to our large suite which, from it's many windows has outstanding vistas of Newcastle town nestled under the magnificent Mourne's with equally breathtaking views of the Irish Sea. This beautifully finished room tempts you to languish in its luxury and leave all your troubles behind. It's marble tiled bathroom with separate bath and shower room are accessed from the main bedroom. All the facilities you would expect are present. The huge sumptuous bed was very comfortable. Down stairs we sipped drinks in the comfortable bar before exiting to enjoy the sunny afternoon's Air display. Drinks were ordered from the hotel and delivered to residents on the lawns or you could walk to the small Percy French marquee in the gardens to buy your own. A particularly appealing aspect of this great hotel is that you literally step through the revolving doors, glide across the it's manicured gardens which are littered with beautiful sculptures and access the beautiful beach via it's private gate.

In the restaurant we were shown to a lovely bay window table offering uninterrupted views of towards the mountains and across the sea.
Drinks were ordered and promptly arrived. We declined the starter course only because we felt the main course was sufficient. We ordered Katesbridge Char Grilled 8oz Rib Eye accompanied with chilli butter, tobacco onions and triple cooked Causeway chips. It was delicious as was The Pan Seared Glenarm Salmon Fillet, tomato and cucumber salsa and crushed new potatoes. I would have preferred my Salmon skin charred crispy, but this is my only gripe.
We returned to the bar for a nightcap before retiring to our sumptuous suite.
At breakfast this morning we again were shown to the large bay window for breakfast. Tea and coffee arrived before we had multiple visits to the breakfast banquet. Fruits with natural yoghurt, porridge with honey drizzled with Bushmill whiskey. Next was the famous Ulster Fry doused with Tabasco sauce was the breakfast highlight, washed down with cold pressed apple juice. Again the waiting staff were tremendous. We negotiated a noon check-out time so we could enjoy a couple more hours in The Bearnagh Suite.

We enjoyed our stay so much we are booked for a further two night stay in the Bearnagh Suite to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary later this week.

A very big thank you to Una Smyth and her helpful, smiling, polite and attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review of your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and booked to come back.

We are delighted to hear that everyone had a great day and that you all enjoyed your meals.

We pride ourselves in offering great customer service and a place where our guests can relax and we are happy you experienced this right through. I will ensure to pass on your comments to Una, she will be delighted to hear this.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as you did with your last and Happy Wedding Anniversary.

Many thanks for you feedback and for choosing Hastings Hotels.

Kind regards


Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Hastings Slieve Donard Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé over the July 12th wknd. What luxoury and style. We were treated like royalty from the very first minute. Colleen at conceirge and hakan in the restaurant. Also James in the Percy were all stand out performers.
We loved it that much we had a showround with Chris and booked our wedding. Thanks Nora for the info to book and Chris for an amazing showround. Be back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelfastDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear BelfastDev,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you are hoping to come back for your wedding.

We are delighted to hear that those members of staff stood out to you and we will ensure to pass your feedback along.

We pride ourselves in offering great customer service and a place where our guests can relax and we are happy you experienced this right through.

Many thanks for you feedback and for choosing Hastings Hotels. We hope to wish you back for your special day.

If you require any further information for your big day give our Wedding Coordinator a call on 028 437 21066

Kind regards


Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Hastings Slieve Donard Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Recently stayed in this fabulous hotel to celebrate husband's 40th birthday and our 10 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in a resort room which had fabulous views, very spacious and very quiet/relaxing. All staff were very attentive and special touches included a lovely surprise of cakes sent up to the room beautifully presented for both birthday and anniversary on consecutive days. Great food, great spa and very relaxing. Excellent hotel for a special occasion. Can't wait to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ann76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
149 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
23.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Property: Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing