We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff.”
Review of Donard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Donard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely staff.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for a night with my mum and kids. Before we arrived the owner I had emailed the owner and asked him about a deposit. He said just to pay when we arrived. The hotel itself is a 3 star and parts of it need updated a bit. However the roooms were spacious, clean, a TV with a multitude of channels which impressed the children and had tea and coffee making facilities. The showers were powerful and warm which in my experience is not always the case. The beds were comfy and we all had a great nights sleep. The staff were just lovely and kept asking if we needed anything and checking everything was ok. We will definitely be back as the location is just so central and great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    28
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
41
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just back from another great stay in the Donard. The one thing that sets this hotel above anywhere else that we have stayed on our wee island is the staff we have never been made to feel more welcome and comfortable in any hotel we have stayed in Ireland they cant do enough for you and their customer service is better than first class, the food is excellent and first class service, very clean and great sized rooms great for both couples and families and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastJay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just back from another weekend at the Donard Hotel and still the standards are excellent. We really enjoyed our break again and as usual the hospitality was great. A nice chill out time before the Christmas rush. Well done to Pat and his staff see you all next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a wonderful time at the donard hotel
they are so friendly and welcoming, they also welcome dogs which was great to be able to have our dog with us
situated right on the main street i was able to shop to my hearts content and my husband enjoyed long walks on the beach and forest ,so both happy
food was great and good value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321lindaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

very clean with great size rooms. there is limited hotel car parking, food was great in both the main hotel and their bar. for any one availing of the walking in the area, and not interested in spa facilities, don't pay the extra for the bigger hotels in the area (I have stayed in both), stay here. staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Absolutely fab stay in the Donard hotel you can't fault it as the location is perfect especially if you rely on public transport.
Staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble for them, food is second to none and it is excellently priced.

Returning next week, and check out the Autumn offers in Discover N Ireland

Room Tip: All rooms will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrymcewan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went here on Sunday with my family. Really good home cooking food. We had 2 roast turkey & ham dinners, chicken strips and a lasagne. Brilliant service and got lots more gravy & sweet chilli sauce at no extra charge ..
We have been here quite a few Sundays now over the summer, seems empty every time, I have no idea why as its really good food, good portion size & well priced ( our 4 adult meals bill came to £35). The staff are very friendly and helpful, I can't fault the restaurant at all. We will be back .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank paulatrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
23.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#12 of 18 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donard Hotel

Property: Donard Hotel
Address: 29 Main Street, Newcastle BT33 0AD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Donard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donard Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing