We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$153
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveller rating
602
266
113
66
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
602
266
113
66
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe vinecottage barambassador roommourne mountainsswimming poolevening entertainmentsteakfirst classnight breakcourse mealsunday eveningrelaxing breaklounge areamid weekmy mumfamily roomdouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

got 3 night break in hotel breakfast and dinner at night excellent rooms got a room at front of hotel very good bit to warm night had to open window all the staff we re very good gym and pool great 20 min walk into Newcastle taxi back was £3 not bad

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelenjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed on 3 night package with free evening meal. First night neither of us could eat the food and sent it back. Following morning foolish enough to brave breakfast. Horrendous !! Spoke to general manager my wife mentioned that breakfast was also cold. He asked what time was that we said 9.15 his reply should'nt have been cold at that time. Hotel advertises three restaurants but fails to mention only one menu, asked manager why this was he said you can't have menues all over the place he also confirmed the fine dining restaurant only opened when it suited them. Had any of this been mentioned in their advertising we would not have been there. We were not brave to face the free meal or indeed any other further meals and thus we dined elsewhere at our own expense in the Percy French restaurant excellent food and no more expensive. Have been in railway stations with more charm and character. Badly in need of makeover, only good was the staff they were terrific

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank millisle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It is a big hotel & restaurant place few km far from Newcastle, on the road to Castlewellan. Old style furniture, great mix of clients: old people, just married couples, family with children. The staff is very professional and kind. The rooms are large and comfortable, very clean too. There is a little spa area (old fashion also this one) near to a nice swimming-pool. Very good breakfast and good restaurant for dinner. A fine place to stay for a couple of day.

Room Tip: Ask the room far from the lobby/restaurant area. If you like the spa, use it in the early morning
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pietro r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel because of its location, spa amenities and vegan menu and was utterly disappointed in the service.
Check in - disastrous. Staff seemed annoyed we had a request and wanted to see the room before committing. Turns out, they have super old rooms facing the (ugly) back = standards. The updated, modern rooms require an upgrade of £5 pp. I find this unbelievable - it wasn't just a nicer view (mind you, still not worth the extra bucks), but just better quality overall. Cheeky way to make extra money.
We decided on the room, had a check in that was so not friendly, I was quite shocked. We had a lot of luggage and nobody offered to help.
The heating in our room wasn't working - tried to ring reception, but phone didn't work. Went to the desk in person, was ignored for a couple of minutes. I was told someone would come check the heating. 10 minutes later, nobody had come to check in the heating. Went back to reception. Eventually, 2 maintenance guys came and said the heating was broken. We were told we would get a portable heater - really?!?! There were several other free rooms that we could have moved to. 30 minutes later (and me asking for the heater), the heater arrived. Didn't warm the room up.
Beds were comfy, room itself was just old, but functional.
Dinner - horrible service. Waited very long for a table to get cleared for us, had to wait 20 minutes for somebody to take out order even though we stated right away that we knew what we wanted. Had to get up to go to waiter to ask for drinks. Food itself was delicious! Highly recommended, great quality of ingredients and presentation.
Wanted to pay, but again had to wait for ages.
Breakfast - the service was horrible yet again. Took ages for us to get seated, and were told this was the last available table, which wasn't true and another waiter gave us a new table afterwards. Breakfast food was average to poor - only tinned fruit, buffet was dirty, nobody asked us for tea/coffee, etc.
Spa - great!! Very clean, nice classes and equipment.
Check out - we realised we got overcharged. Girl who checked us in didn't apologise, but we got a refund from the manager.
Bottom line - if they had new, trained staff, I would go back, but I cannot recommend this place with the current standards (expect for the dinner food).
The staff honestly needs training on how to provide good service, be attentive and just friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The burrendale never disappoints with food. Visited in May and ordered the well priced steak and Caesar salad. Staff very diligent and food is top notch. Easily the best eatery in South Down! One small negative is the amount of time one has to wait for the food to appear from kitchen. Stayed for two courses and was there for 2 hours, although the food makes up for this in abundance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CountryGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews