We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Wedding”
Review of Hugh McCann's

Hugh McCann's
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Hugh McCann’s is family business that has been on the go for almost 40 years, the building is around 200 years old and has been sympathetically restored to preserve old world charm, yet with all modern comforts and fabulous design taking advantage of the stunning situation.The building nestles between the mountains and the sea. The restaurant looks onto the promenade and out to sea, the bar area, beer garden and wedding function room have views of the Mourne mountains. Ample parking for coaches is available nearby. Conference facilities include breathtaking 'breakout' areas, and fabulous opportunities for team building activities such as a walk in the hills or volunteering at a local national nature reserve.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Chris and I got married here last week and we really can't tell you how great the day was. Everyone complemented the food, the decor, the views. The bar service was great, the food was great and we couldn't have asked for better. We would definitely recommend a wedding here. Booking Hugh McCanns had a lot of meaning as Chris and I met each other climbing Slieve Donard, also got engaged at the top of Slieve Donard so we couldn't have picked a better venue with a view of the mountain behind us. Thanks to everyone at McCanns that made our day so much better than I could have hoped for! The staff members certainly enjoyed our singer waiter Cameoflage lol Big thanks to Donna she was very helpful!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deelamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh M, Manager at Hugh McCann's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

We are so happy that you had a wonderful day with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you celebrate with us.
We look forward to seeing you i the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Casual restaurant with good food, expansive drink menu and specials of the day. Recommend making reservations as the place is busy especially on weekends. Interior is eclectic and cozy. We would eat there again.

Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh M, Manager at Hugh McCann's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Gail, thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Just had Sunday lunch and have to say it was amazing. Food was really good and roast beef just melted in my mouth, stuffing was delicious. The chef is a great guy and went out of his way to make sure everything is perfect. The staff are really nice and friendly. Would definitely recommend eating here. The views are amazing too.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh M, Manager at Hugh McCann's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Dorothy, thank you for your review! We just love our family friendly Sunday Carvery here at Hugh McCanns and its great to see you do too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Food was pretty basic, a fairly average standard of pub grub, pretty pricey for what we received. Baby bowl was spuds, gravy and long strips of veg? We have a 9 month old here and that was what was served??? Logic ??? Service was fast and polite, Hugh's is well decorated and comfortable, mabey just caught it on a bad day.

Thank Cillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh M, Manager at Hugh McCann's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Cillian, thank you for your review. I've checked in with the kitchen staff and apologise for the portion you received for the baby bowl. The carrots should have been cut up before going in the bowl. I do hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This venue put on an awesome wedding in its traditional quaint venue. The food and service was fantastic in the restaurant and set at the foot of stunning views of the Mournes. The night entertainment then took place in a brilliant function room. All in all staff couldn't have done more.

Thank Loveportugal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh M, Manager at Hugh McCann's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Loveportugal_10 thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hugh McCann's also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Hugh McCann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing