We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly at its best”
Review of Hugh McCann's

Hugh McCann's
Ranked #14 of 63 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: £4 - £20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Hugh McCann’s is family business that has been on the go for almost 40 years, the building is around 200 years old and has been sympathetically restored to preserve old world charm, yet with all modern comforts and fabulous design taking advantage of the stunning situation.The building nestles between the mountains and the sea. The restaurant looks onto the promenade and out to sea, the bar area, beer garden and wedding function room have views of the Mourne mountains. Ample parking for coaches is available nearby. Conference facilities include breathtaking 'breakout' areas, and fabulous opportunities for team building activities such as a walk in the hills or volunteering at a local national nature reserve.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

We went to this restaurant as it was dog friendly and it was you sat inside with your dog in 2 rooms specially for dogs the staff were friendly and food so good we went back the next day would definitely recommend to everyone

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank ArmaghFreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

To Hugh McCanns I can not recommend this venue highly enough they did everything to perfection for us ... anything we wanted and needed on our special day they did... they went above and beyond for our wedding and allowed us to decorate to how we wanted it thankyou to sonya..Lee..Catherine..Claire..
Donna and all the staff who made our day special from the ceremony to the service the food was delicious in faxt just the whole day I can't express how amazing we felt we are still on a high ... we will be back again without a doubt !!! We had our mexican fiesta wedding we dreamed of!! thankyou hugh mccanns and 're wonderful staff ❤❤🤟🤟🤟 cat and Alex!!

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank catherineccbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

Can I just say the food was lovely and the vino even better... Very friendly staff... And I also found out it was dog friendly which is a bonus in my eyes when Yr out for a walk with Yr dogs you can have a coffee and they come with very useful loved it.....

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kinneypooh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Called in on a Saturday afternoon to watch the football an get some food. Waited ages to be served as bar staff was to busy watching the football themselves they didn't acknowledge us. Then when we got served we were refused a food menu as they said we could not eat in the front bar unless we had a dog when we could clearly we see other tables being served with no dogs to be seen. Also to top things off they charged us 4.50 for a tin off cider! Place is a complete joke!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank thomasmR1430LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2019

Place is dirty and food was horrible, staff were rude seemed as though they didnt want to be there complaining about when they last had a day off, i was handed out a glass with lipstick and when i asked to change it they never even apoligised.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hugh McCann's also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Hugh McCann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.