We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avoca Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
41
37
19
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
37
19
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroast porktelevision channelschicken marylandsea viewportion sizeshotel staybit datedstuffingpeasnice breakfastmid week breakmourne mountainsfew drinkscooked breakfastsecond to nonepromenademeal
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

All I expect form a hotel of this calibre is that it is clean and the staff are friendly and it did not disappoint. Hard to fault really. Good location, excellent views from front rooms, spacious livingroom with sea views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fish323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Avoca Hotel is an hotel of yesteryear with bay windows overlooking the Irish Sea. We always stay in Newcastle at the Avoca because of the great location, clean pleasant rooms, made to order breakfast and especially the friendly staff including Susan and her family which run the hotel. (Love to watch people on the promenade from the window.)
The bar/restaurant has a large menu with generous portions. (The lamb was wonderful).
There is a private car park but what makes this place so special are the bay room windows with a bathroom and a sea view. Plus the prices are reasonable.
Wonderful location for exploring the Mourne Mountains and the lovely town of Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with a bay window. The Avoca has GREAT packages.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank borntotravelOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel was easy to find and provided a good service at a very reasonable price. Just a pity we had to walk outside in the pouring rain to get to the bar!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Positive:
- the hotel is on seafront, and close to the main street
- staff are friendly

Negative:
- rooms need refurbishment
- cannot drink in the rooms (not even a bottle of wine), but the staffs are flexible
- breakfast is not buffet style, therefore not much selection

Conclusion: Average quality accommodation for one night only, with good location, but below than average rooms and breakfast. Majority of the guests are older than 50 years.

Room Tip: ask for seafront
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ferencreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The hotel is in a fantastic location and had a fabulous unspoiled view from the rooms out over the newly rejuvenated promdenade and sea. The rooms were basic, but very clean and comfortable, representing great value for the £70 per night for two people. We were able to park our car in the car park which was great as we knew it would be safe all weekend. The staff could not have been nicer, they were welcoming, warm and friendly and were able to recommend all the best places to go to locally. The breakfast was hearty with a good variety on offer. We had our evening meal in the bar, where there was a great selection of food on the menu, it was reasonably priced, very tasty and the service was quick. We stayed for a few drinks afterwards and were also pleasantly surprised by the bar prices. We will definitely be back for another weekend in this well priced, well located hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Horseygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews