We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but very cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avoca Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avoca Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
cumbria,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice hotel but very cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

we stayed here for 1 night prior to climbing slieve donard in the mourne mountains. the location is fabulous, right at the start of the walk and just 10mins from the bus station. the staff were friendly and welcoming. our room was quite dated but clean, with tea and coffee and a sink. the bathroom was shared with only 1 other room and just across from our bedroom. the room had a marvellous sea view and breakfast was really good with very tasty porridge and although they didnt have a vegetarian option they very kindly catered to my friend who doesnt eat meat or eggs.the room was very quiet and we got a really good sleep. the only grumbles we had of this hotel was that our room was very cold. although it warmed up a bit when the heating was on, it only came on for a short while at a time and was not very pleasant as the outside temperature was very cold. also the shower was at best lukewarm so we couldnt warm up that way.this rather spoilt our stay as we do like to be warm!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidicumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Me my mum and sister stayed in this hotel just for a wee short break during midterm. We stayed from the 17th - 19th feb. Must say beautiful hotel gives that special effect to newcastle. Especially when you see them big fancy hotels and most people are into the 80's stuff. Has loads to do, and the food was absolutely gorgeos and believe me when i say gorgeos i mean it. The staff are so caring, kind and lovely people couldnt get over how nice they were, they showed you too your room and everything, unlike a big fancy hotel your given the keys and you have to make your own way around!!
Now to the room. Stayed in room 30 lovely and peaceful couldnt hear any trafficand the view my god was absolutely beautiful!! Could see the sea. The beds were so comfy we couldnt get out of them! Bathroom was stunning! But heres the downs. I know yous are trying your best but disabled acess is highly needed the hotel could do with a small not huge make over on both in and outsides. I can see yous are making a start. The bunk beds arent safe. Only one wooden barrier at the side any age child could fall out andhe springs that are holding up the top bunk matteres when some lies on it the springs come straight down. But other than that stuff. Its a beautiful hotel. Highly reconmended!!

Room Tip: Room 31 or 30 highly recomended or if with disabled people( not meaning to be rude) room 14 - 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We spent one night at this hotel on our way to County Tipperary. The hotel is situated on the promenade with fine views over the sea. Our room was clean and comfortable without being spectacular and overlooked the promenade and sea. It also had an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was large and tasty. The hotel is convenient for all the town facilities and is very close to a footpath going up the Mountains of Mourne which are very attractive. Access to the hotel carpark is through a secure entrance.This hotel is well worth the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

A large group of 11 stayed here for a 5 day stay. We all found the staff to be amazing and helpful. We were well looked after here and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel for large groups who want somewhere affordable to stay and use as a base for touring the local area. Thanks to all the ladies at the front desk and breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. There is no extra cost and it is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorahChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Took some time out and stayed for 2 nights at the Avoca, it's an old establishment, like a maze to find your room., good view from the twin room I was allocated although the bathroom was across the hal,l in other words not en suite, couldn't receive WiFi although the receptionist stated that I should have been able to. Breakfast was good but staff not very frendly, think I arrived down too early and the waitress did her job well but she should make the guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view with an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Had a great day out in Newcastle lovely walk up the town to shops , and needed a bite to eat ,Avoca were doing a two course meal for (wait for it £5.50 each) a lovely choice and great service where could you beat this, full marks will be back again,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniskillen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

From stairs about 1/2 metre wide and the reception desk like a block of wood in the middle of the floor and shower in my room broken and room smelt like smoke and staff was extremely ignorant and also very expensive. And rooms dirty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jack w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.6 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Hotel

Property: Avoca Hotel
Address: 93-97 Central Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0HH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Hotel Class:1 star — Avoca Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Avoca Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing