We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avoca Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newcastle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Cherry Villa(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Roma(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Widow's Row(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golf Links House(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
41
37
18
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
37
18
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroast porktelevision channelschicken marylandsea viewportion sizeshotel staybit datedstuffingpeasnice breakfastmid week breakmourne mountainsfew drinkscooked breakfastsecond to nonepromenademeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great stay again, stayed in january, nice views and staff, very cheap prices, the room service was very good, i have used this hotel 10 times by now and i cant fault it,
I even drive from celbridge for a mid week break at a good price

Room Tip: Get front room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfie_flynnzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Dated, but friendly and clean. Had I stayed the one night, my review may not have been as good, however after staying for 14 nights, I found the staff, facilities and welcome in general at tbe Avoca to be excellent - very clean every where, clean sheets and towels daily (most big hotels don't do this) very very friendly and helpful staff. Yes it's dated, and yes it has it's quirks, but if you want a comfortable, centrally located hotel, at moderate prices, then this is the place. I will be going back to see more of the area, and re visit the Avoca

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigh190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for a couple nights in September and had a warm & cozy basic room that had a great view of the sea. Access to the Mourne Mtns was handy enough. I walked outside the door and was up and down Slieve Donard in time for tea. Breakfast was included in the price. Although it wasn't to my taste, it's a good value for room and board. Staff were super accommodating. In terms of cleanliness, I'd prefer not to have busted out the babywipes to wipe off dust. Nevertheless, I'd stay there again because it's a great value with convenient access to the mountains. I have no problem with stairs, but for someone who does, this hotel would not be the best choice. The Seasalt Deli around the corner is fabulous (breakfast & dinner). You've got the mountains and the sea in Newcastle and the Avoca Hotel is a good gateway.

Room Tip: If you're headed to the mountains and are seeking a basic, budget-friendly room, Avoca's a good choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katayoun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

excellent value for money for a night. the rooms were excellent. i will definately stay again. highly enjoyable evening at bar. staff are very helpfull and friendly breakfast was lovely Newcastle was lovely especially when the weather was good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sort of like a Best Western. OK but dated . Breakfast was a basic Irish. parking can be a problem and if you get a room with an oceanfront view the traffic and people noise can be an issue. All in all for a last minute stay it worked out. Oh yeah, no elevator for your bags. Pack light

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Fishbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews