We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, facilities all present, helpful owners”
Review of Tory Bush Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tory Bush Cottages
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, facilities all present, helpful owners”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I took 8 Dutch colleagues here for a business retreat for three days. We hired two cottages and the central meeting room. They all were blown away by what was on offer. The place is beautifully situated right next to the mountains and a ten minute walk from Tollymore Forest. We picnicked on the set of Game of Thrones in the forest.

The owners are around to help but very unobtrusive. There's wifi available if you want it. The mobile reception is terrible so you probably will need it. The cottages are fully equipped with all you need for self catering and there's free wood to burn for the cosy feeling.

All in all as a meeting place or a place to spend a few relaxing days - can;t recommend it highly enough. The prices were very kind to the Dutch guys who are used to paying much more for anything similar in terms of quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We came as a family group to visit nearby relatives for a family occasion. The cottage was lovely, like home from home with beautiful views and surroundings. The owner was very helpful with the booking, arranging all the rooms to suit our requirements. He was friendly and left us to relax and come and go as we please.
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer, we will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gillzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Having once stayed at tory bush as part of a group and having experienced what is there i find it incredible to read these negative reviews, this place is a gem, the cottages are outstanding and are spotless, the owner is on site yes and to be quite honest we seen him a few times and at no time was he anything other than helpful, we where there with a group of kids and had a fantastic time, late night forest walks, BBQ, lounging in the beautifully kept gardens sunbathing etc, everything that a break should contain, i took comfort in knowing his rules, it meant i and others could relax more knowing that no-one else could be there other than the residents. if you are after a secure and relaxing venue then this place ticks all the boxes its a true gem of n.Ireland, everything was provided to make it a home from home, the best thing for me was the gathering of a few logs in the nearby forest with the kids to feed the open fire and then a big cold beer in-front of it whilst everyone was wrapped up safe and snug sleeping, my only wish would be to experience tory bush during the winter, snow capped mountains etc, and to really appreciate that open log burning fire, i cannot thank the owner enough for giving not only me the chance to experience it all, but also my kids, those memories will last a life time.

Room Tip: my only tip would be to take a camera as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Rooms with a fantastic post card view of the mournes. I found the cottage very clean and the facilities are great. A short drive from Newcastle and the mountains on our doorstep.
After walking all day I was able to have a lovely warm bath although separate shower was there too.
Cooking on site with all the bits and pieces you need and a lovely little balcony with bbq stand to use a disposable bbq. I didnt this time but I would totally recommend this spot to anyone looking for a relaxing spot.
Thanks to the owner David for giving my old car a tow :) when it wouldnt start. So kind.
ps. lovely wee open fire if weather is bad :) so cosey

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Tyrone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed in the eco loft cottage last October/November and were delighted with the accomodation it was spotlessly clean, the kitchen was very well stocked with everything we needed and the rooms were all very comfortable and cosy. It was very much a home from home our cottage had a balcony with table and chairs which was perfect for taking in the gorgeous view The owner was very pleasant and left us to our own devices though we knew he was on hand if needed. The cottages are clearly a labour of love for him.Location wise the cottages were close to Newcastle/Dundrum/Tollymore and of course within easy walking distance to the main attraction themselves the Mournes, Im very much looking forward to staying tory bush again its the perfect place to relax and unwind after a glorious days walking in the magical mournes.

Room Tip: eco loft is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had a week in NI during May/June half term. Cottages were fantastic and a great location for accessing the Mourne Mountains. Despite the mixed weather we had a great week. It is possible to walk a short way down the road and then into the top of Tollymore Forest Park, which is a lovely place to visit, especially along the path down by the stream.
The cottage we stayed in slept 5 and had a cot. As there were just 4 of us, it meant my brother and I were able to have separate rooms (3 bedrooms). Each bedroom upstairs had a sink, plus the downstairs room had an en suite with a shower. Kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and cutlery etc. At the back it opened up onto a small garden, for that property alone with a picnic bench, so for the better weather you could have eaten outside. (We did spend quite a few evenings with friends in Warrenpoint so it wasn't all down to the poor weather that we didn't eat out here).

Overall a very enjoyable experience. Would like to come back to climb some more of the mountains. Only made it up 5 this time!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basilio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Myself and my wife have spent many weekend breaks and longer breaks now at Tory Bush. The area is beautiful, really close to Tollymore forest as well as plenty of good Mountain tracks with Slieve Meelmore, Slieve Bearagh and slieve Meelbeg all within good walking distance.

There is always something happening around Tory Bush, plenty of friendly animals to visit, its truly a home from home for us.

I've noticed some negative reviews, mainly concerning the owners rules of not allowing visitors. The owner is a really friendly and lovely guy and this rule is there for a reason, Tory Bush is not a hostel and having a rule about no visitors means that the place will remain lovely and tranquil.

Love it and will be back many more times.

Room Tip: Ecoloft is great for a quick getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meelmore Lodge
Meelmore Lodge
#2 of 18 in Newcastle
46 reviews
5.2 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tory Bush Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tory Bush Cottages

Property: Tory Bush Cottages
Address: 79 Tullyrea Road | Bryansford, Newcastle BT34 5DL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Tory Bush Cottages Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing