We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cant wait to go back again”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

A lovely warm reception from Suzan and Brian. Extensive breakfast menu, food was excellent and brought with a warm smile. We really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were bright, large and very cosy with a great view of the Mourne mountains. The cottage is large and on its on grounds, and is also very private, lots of space to relax in, very quiet and tranquil. Beautiful gardens surrounding cottage. Perfect for a week end away from the big city. This cottage i feel is very special and is a must see!. Five minutes from the town centre. My partner and i hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    29
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
78
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I was on a photo tour of Ireland with a small group of people and we stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place just outside of Newcastle. It really is located in a picturesque area and my room was lovely. It was clean, it had a desk at which I could use my laptop to work on photos, and I had no quibbles with it at all....except for the heat (or lack thereof). They are a hardy people who live out there, and probably don't require heat as much as those of us not used to the windy, chilly Irish spring. After our first night with no heat, the proprietress was asked to please turn the heat on for us. Eventually, that was done and so my room was a little warmer on the second evening there. This is an issue that should probably be attended to on a regular basis if guests continue to stay there. Oh, and while this place does have free wifi, the 300-year old walls are so thick that the wifi can only be accessed either in a little den adjacent to the reception area, or -as was my case - by plopping your laptop or iPad down on the reception counter in front of the router system. The breakfasts were awesome as was the coffee and tea. Overall, I liked my stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed with my 4 yr old daughter. From the start we were made most welcome. Even down to leaving toys in the room for Poppy-Anne. Nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast. All in lmost recomended

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186225Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The house is situated in a very peaceful, charming spot. Check-in times are from 4-6 which is a bit limiting. Suzan is very kind and helpful. The rooms were large and breakfast was very good. Nice lounge areas are available. You can't walk to town and it's about 6 pounds by cab. Suzan said it shouldn't cost that much but that's what we were charged. The town is very charming. We're really glad we stayed here. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Our second stay at the Briers Country House was as special as the first. Fantastic service, extensive breakfast menu and lovely surroundings make this Country House one not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KClarkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed at Briers for one-night 13th Aug, it was ok. On arrival got refreshments, nice touch, room was fine, nothing special as was ensuite, everything clean and fresh. Breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from, fruits, cereals etc. I recommend the smoked salmon and eggs. The house is what it is, a country house with beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopeep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I organised a hen party in Newcastle, and we all stayed at the Briers. The food was delicious, rooms spacious and clean, and although surrounded by fields and countryside, you are a two minute taxi journey from Newcastle town centre. This was a great stay, and Suzan was very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMcWBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
10.5 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Property: Briers Country House
Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing