We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay - again”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I just return from a golfing holiday in Northern Ireland and stayed - for the second time - at the Briers. Like last year I was overwelmed by the service of Susan and her family, the locacation as well as the atmosphere at the Briers´.

Situated just outside of Newcastle town centre - a short 30 minutes walk --, the Briers is the place to relax after walking Mourne Mountains or a day on the golf course. The breakfast is great and everyone is very helpful to make it a perfect vacation for you. The rooms are spacious and quite comfortable.

What more can I say: I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    31
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
78
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Suzan & Bryan were such gracious hosts; they complement the great yard and surroundings, provide a quiet environment, and serve superb breakfasts. Extremely comfortable bed and room! The Briers is close enough to central Newcastle and great golf at Royal County Down, yet sufficiently separate to be out of the tourist melee. Great value and experience.

Bill Simmons
Burlington, ON, Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

When we arrived at the Briers and were driving up the laneway we were very impressed with the surroundings. Lovely, well kept gardens and hedges. Lovely entrance, swift check in, but sadly, for us, thats where it started to go wrong.
We were shown to our room by Susan, who was very nice and gave us advice on where to eat and as it was 6pm we were going out for tea. When we came back for the evening around 8pm we soon noticed the house was freezing ( note previous post). We decided to go and avail of the tea and coffee which was available in the lounge area only to find there was no coffee at all and two stale biscuits in a tin. The lounge area was freezing and very untidy.

Our Room
Room no 2 was a large room with a double bed and a sofa bed but as before was freezing. The bed had no top sheet, just the duvet cover and very flat hard pillows. When I got up in the morning my clothes felt damp...In August. I dont think the heating has been on for months. I dropped something and had reason to pull out the sofabed and was shocked to see that it hasnt been out in a long time as it was very dirty behind.

Breakfast was adequate, but the surroundings were not. The carpet in the dining room is filthy, with several large spill stains and fingerprints on all the glass doors.

This is a lovely home in a lovely setting and I feel, with a little more effort could be a superb, luxury bed and breakfast

Would I return.. No, as for £32.50 pp pn I expected a higher standard of warmth and cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellerknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in the Briers and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a home from home for us. The rooms are spacious and very comfy, Myself husband and two boys were really pleased. Suzan and Brian were so welcoming,,we felt we,d known them a lifetime! The gardens surrounding the house are gorgeous, so tranquil, The location of the house is just opposite tullymore forest park, which is an ideal place to tire out two boys!
I honestly could not reccomend this place more. If you are looking for a nice break in beautiful surroundings, thats immaculately clean, friendly and a gutbusting home cooked breakfast, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillian032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Having visited the Briers four or five times now, I can truly say - it is superb!
The rooms are spotlessly clean - Suzan keeps everything totally immaculate.
The rooms are modern, well decorated and spacious. There is plenty of car parking space and the surrounding countryside ensures a quiet and peaceful stay.
Brian does an excellent Ulster Fry - try it for breakfast, and it will set you up for the day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2011

A lovely warm reception from Suzan and Brian. Extensive breakfast menu, food was excellent and brought with a warm smile. We really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were bright, large and very cosy with a great view of the Mourne mountains. The cottage is large and on its on grounds, and is also very private, lots of space to relax in, very quiet and tranquil. Beautiful gardens surrounding cottage. Perfect for a week end away from the big city. This cottage i feel is very special and is a must see!. Five minutes from the town centre. My partner and i hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I was on a photo tour of Ireland with a small group of people and we stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place just outside of Newcastle. It really is located in a picturesque area and my room was lovely. It was clean, it had a desk at which I could use my laptop to work on photos, and I had no quibbles with it at all....except for the heat (or lack thereof). They are a hardy people who live out there, and probably don't require heat as much as those of us not used to the windy, chilly Irish spring. After our first night with no heat, the proprietress was asked to please turn the heat on for us. Eventually, that was done and so my room was a little warmer on the second evening there. This is an issue that should probably be attended to on a regular basis if guests continue to stay there. Oh, and while this place does have free wifi, the 300-year old walls are so thick that the wifi can only be accessed either in a little den adjacent to the reception area, or -as was my case - by plopping your laptop or iPad down on the reception counter in front of the router system. The breakfasts were awesome as was the coffee and tea. Overall, I liked my stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Property: Briers Country House
Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing