We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snug in the Drumlins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The surroundings offer a mini-Co Down landscape with drumlins, whins and fresh air. A great wee place. Well placed for visits to Tollymore, Castlewellan and Newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our foursome just returned from a golfing holiday in Northern Ireland where we spent three night at Briers. Breakfasts, accommodations, scenery, and hospitality were really great, and Suzan is a wonderful hostess. The Country House provides a true feel for rural County Down at its finest, yet is close to Newcastle Town Centre and other nearby towns for restaurants, golf, etc. Views of Slieve Donard are spectacular. Hot water bottles after a tough day on the course were a real bonus!

Sincere thanks and best wishes to our hosts,

Phil, Bill, Brian, and Richard

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhairwayPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Quiet and pictureesque location, good breakfast. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Myself and my partner have just come back from a weekend at the Briers and the first thing we had to do was write a review. This place is fabulous. Suzan and Brian (the owners) couldnt have been nicer, they recommended places to eat, things to do and were on hand for anything we needed, although you were very much leftalone, which we loved, as the last time we stayed in a B & B we were constantly disturbed by the owners, knocking the door, and we felt very much like we were in someones home. This wont happen in the Briers. Its so relaxed and friendly. The rooms were so clean and very warm. The views from the windows of the bedroom were beautiful. The only one thing i think that could be changed it tea and coffee facilites in the bedroom,although i do have to say that there was a lounge with tea, coffee and biscuits. When we asked for a kettle we did get one straight away. As for breakfast, wow, it was like a four star hotel, we were offered seconds of anything we wanted. Brian and Suzan were the nicest people we could have met. We would recommend anyone to stay there. The value for money is amazing, We will most certainly be back. Thanks Suzan and Brian. Clare and Martin ( we might be back for our honeymoon lol)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Really enjoyed my short stay in The Briers just outside Newcastle County Down. Service excellent, room, really nice, location, out of this world. Wonderful views over Mourne Country. Loved it. Thanks you Susan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdamHarbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Susan, our warm and friendly hostess looked after our needs in a relaxed and efficient "No bother" way. The inn is spotless, comfortable and homey, surrounded by gardens. The rooms were cozy and warm during a Newcastle force 9 gale which lifted sheep off the ground and drowned hedgehogs. And for breakfast, anything you desire served in a timely manner, sometimes by her charming children who seem to like helping out in the family business. I have stayed in other places in Newcastle but this is my first choice from now on. Ron from Canada

Room Tip: Simlply ask Susan or Brian what they would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron6479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Chose to stay here after reading mainly favourable reviews on TA, and we weren't disappointed. We were made to feel most welcome by Suzan throughout our stay.
We had a lovely room with stunning views of the Mournes, plus a good size bathroom with walk-in shower. One thing though that I think would improve the room would be the addition of tea/coffee making facilities, which someone else has also mentioned here, rather than having to make a drink in the lounge area.
There were plenty of choices for breakfast, and we all had the Ulster fry which was huge!
As I said, a good choice, but I think you would need your own transport as it's a good walk from Newcastle town centre.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angleseymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
16.3 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
334 reviews
16.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing