We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Briers Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
102
33
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
33
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmourne mountainsb bulster frynewcastle town centrehot showercouple of nightswere greeted warmlythe bed was extremely comfortableon arrivalnight's sleepwarm welcometullymore forest parkset us up for the dayan evening mealfull irish breakfastfirst classireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We loved staying a The Briers Country House. It provided great value accommodation, huge breakfast (cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, toast, THEN a fry or other cooked options) with a large pot of tea/coffee each, sparkling bathrooms and bedding, close-up views of the Mournes, and proximity to Newcastle, all on a budget.

I especially appreciated the full-size shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom.

The owner could not have been more friendly or welcoming, recommending several places to eat, offering to book a table, and suggestions on directions, parking and onward travel arrangements.

Local taxis will come out from the town, a 15 minute walk.

There is a roomy, secure parking area at the rear of the property, which reassured us that our vehicle was safe overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mournes.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senseilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We are a family of 4 (kids aged 9 and 13). We stayed at The Briers on July 8th and were very well cared for. It was like staying with family (that you like!) First off, we had booked a family room, but the owner had space and thought we would be more comfortable in 2 separate rooms so we got 2 rooms for the price of one. Because of the "heat wave" in Ireland, we needed to do some laundry as we had not brought many clothes for warm weather. We asked if there was somewhere in town where we could do a load. The host said, "Don't worry, I'll do it for you." - WOW!

We asked the host for a recommendation for dinner. She gave several, but suggested a restaurant called "Vanilla" if we had a more experimental palate. This was of interest to us, so she called the restaurant and made us a reservation even securing the "Early Bird" price although we were past the Early Bird time slot. The dinner was FANTASTIC!! I think the best we had while in Ireland.

At 11 pm that night after, a brilliant dinner, we heard a rap on the door and it was a full basket of clean laundry, folded and ready to repack! The next morning we had a great breakfast. The Full Irish breakfast was the best we had while in Ireland.

Now, The Briers is not super-fancy luxury resort, but, in our opinion, they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and at home. The setting is about a 15 minute walk out of town, but our kids loved visiting the cows and sheep in the nearby fields and it was cool and quiet for sleeping. Views to the Mourn Mountains out the bedroom windows were lovely. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shantzie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked a room at The Briers as we were attending a Wedding Reception at a hotel which was only one mile away. On arrival we were given the key to the outside door and told where to find the Room Key on our return that evening. As we were in the process of booking a taxi to take us to the Wedding Reception venue, Suzanne told us here husband would drive us there, which saved us about 30 minutes.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

The following morning we were greeted with the famous "Ulster Fry" which went down a treat. As we were only staying one night, we than had a wander around the lawn/garden and enjoyed thesight of the beautiful Mountains of Mourne.

When we were booking out, we enjoyed a few minutes (probably too many minutes of what would have been the Owners Quality Time), having a general chit chat, which rounded off a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We went over to Newcastle for a friends wedding who booked us into the Briers. I am so glad she did. It was an amazing experience. When we got back late from the wedding party, hotwater bottles had been put into bed just to make sure the bed was warm. The room was warm enough but it was an amazing little touch and one of many. The owners were so helpful and even took us to the bus station went we left. Breakfast was amazing and plentiful.

Room Tip: If you have any needs just ring the hotel and they will do their best to help you
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaweedtickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Lovely family run B&B (with a garden) in a quiet location beside Tollymore Forest Park. Our room had a fantastic view of the Mournes. Location not far from Newcastle, Murlough Bay, Kilkeel and the Silent Valley. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. Rates were reasonable and we would stay here again. We had the benefit of having both the mountains and the seaside and the weather was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews