We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is under new ownership - the owners only had it three weeks when we stayed so I've no doubt it will be refurbished. The rooms are clean and comfortable. New towels would be great as they're not the softest and a bigger flat screen tv as the room still had the old CRT portable tv. A few communal areas were quite musty but seeing as the owners only bought it, that will be resolved. The breakfast was fabulous - great selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and the usual hot food. The dinners were lovely too - especially the desserts. It's set down a quiet road overlooking the Mournes. Tollymore Forest is within walking distance. You could easily walk into the town if you have 15-20 mins to spare. Very peaceful at night with comfortable beds. Lovely gardens and ample parking. I've no doubt this place will change over the coming months under Maureen's management. She couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank galjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just stayed 2 nights in the Briers Country House and the Hospitality was superb! The room was clean and spacious. The food was home cooked and of a high standard. The setting is stunning and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ml_ohanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Briers B&B is a great spot to hit the Mournes from and get a great breakfast. Suzanne and her family are very welcoming and helpful, this is the second time I've stayed there and I'll definitely be back in the future. Walking distance from Tollymore Forest Park - I've gone for a walk both mornings that I've been at the B&B and it's a great way to start the day!
The fresh coffee and great fry in the morning is something I look forward to and it has been fantastic each time :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just stayed our first of two nights at Briers. What a charming place. Our room is immaculate and has a stunning view of the mountains. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The hospitality is wonderful. We've been in Ireland for 4 nights so far and last night was the best night of sleep we've had. We are looking forward to another night here and we will undoubtedly be back during future trips to Newcastle.

Room Tip: I am fairly certain there is not a bad room in this place. However, room 5 was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Thank you so much Suzan for a really lovely stay - all our needs were perfectly met last weekend. A beautifully appointed warm and spacious room with an idyllic view of the Mournes to wake up to, ensuite bathroom was perfect - equipped with all we needed, hot water bottles in bed as an extra detail - amazing after a walk back from town on a cold evening!
The breakfast in bed was a complete WHAOW factor! What a spread - a hot meal of your choice, with toast and local homemade preserves and a fabulous freshly made fruit salad! Totally amazing. Set us up for a long Mourne walk that day.
The Briers is so close to many great hill walks, a stones throw from Tollymore Forest, the famous seaweed baths (which we tried - FAB!) and some great restaurants. A taxi into town is £3.50 or it's a 25 min walk. A brilliant discovery for a great price and I definitely will be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed with the briars with our small children for a couple of nights and found everything wonderful. The hospitality and food were particularly good. Excellent home cooked food and toys for the children to play with. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thank you Suzan and Bryan (not John) for your wonderful hospitality. Rooms are clean and homely and Suzan and Bryan are great hosts. There's great choices for breakfast and obviously the wonderful Full Irish....Yummmm.

Highly recommend this little jewel. Peaceful, homely and very very comfortable.

Thanks Suzan and Bryan

Catch up with you soon.

Carolyn and Phil Bissell

Room Tip: No swimming pool but who needs one of them in December in Northern Ireland...there's a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £83 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing