We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to the ratings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not up to the ratings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night at the Briers. This BB does not live up to the Trip Advisor reviews. As a frequent traveller and member of Trip Advisor we felt that this BB was average at best.
I am sure the new owner, Maureen, is doing her best to update and make the guest house her own. She is a very pleasant person who is working hard to improve the BB. I hope in time this will come to happen as the setting is terrific.
The rooms and facilities at this B&B are adequate at best.
Grata location to the Mourns Mountains and the Tollymore Forest Park.


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    30
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Maureen took over this business a few months ago and she is very active in changing things (new carpets were being fitted whilst we were there). A Pleasant and clean room with very satisfactory breakfasts. Location would suit walkers and those interested in visiting local attractions. Decent local restaurants need to be pre-booked as there are not many of them for evening meals.
Malcolm P

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed last year in The Briers and had a lovely experience and where excited to stay again this year. When I heard it was under new management I wad slightly nervous about booking but I can honestly say we had a lovely time. The 3 rooms we booked where 1st class and the food was excellent. Maureen is doing a wonderful job refurbishing the rooms and im sure once she puts her magic touch on all the rooms it will look immaculate. The 2 she has done so far are superb. Maureen and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianasmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Briers is located very close to town and has a beautiful view of the Mourne mtns. The rooms are very clean and nice. The breakfasts were excellent with french toast being my favorite.

Maureen is the perfect hostess. She went out of her way to provide information about great area restaurants and activities. We hand washed our laundry our first evening. Our socks and heavier cotton items were not drying well. Maureen noticed our plight and dried our laundry in her dryer without so much as a request from us. Much to our surprise, our wet clothes were dry and folded when we returned from our hike in the mountains.

Maureen goes out of her way to make guests feel comfortable and appreciated. We highly recommend Briers Country House.

Will and Kathy Strycker

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Only realised after we checked in that The Briers had recently been taken over, this maybe accounted for the number of issues we found during our stay as the new owners are probably only starting to put their stamp on things. It was not the room we booked online, the tv was way too small, the shower head needed cleaned, a shelf is needed in the bathroom for toiletries and a lack of staff about the front of the building especially at night was slightly worrying. Some of the areas smelt a bit musty.
There were 2 dead birds on the roof outside our window that was a bit off putting!!
The lady was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Head scratcher why this is the top hotel in Newcastle as firstly it is a guest house, and secondly it definitely does not have any wow factor. Beds are comfy, rooms warm enough

The host is convivial. The rooms provide the necessary function of comfort and cleansliness. Breakfast the next day adequate enough, but the down sides disappoint.

The decor is dated, no biggie. But after a day out, the telly, the older tube model is plugged into more modern aerial. The two aren't compatible so the outcome is that you have no television in the room. The bathroom has a wet room all part of the toilet area. Whilst seated and thinking about life, ants started crawling out of the crack in the tiles behind the radiator. The bathroom wasn't cleaned the best, wee touch of mold and a wee touch tired.

You couldn't complain about value though for £65 a shouldn't expect the Slieve Donard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is under new ownership - the owners only had it three weeks when we stayed so I've no doubt it will be refurbished. The rooms are clean and comfortable. New towels would be great as they're not the softest and a bigger flat screen tv as the room still had the old CRT portable tv. A few communal areas were quite musty but seeing as the owners only bought it, that will be resolved. The breakfast was fabulous - great selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and the usual hot food. The dinners were lovely too - especially the desserts. It's set down a quiet road overlooking the Mournes. Tollymore Forest is within walking distance. You could easily walk into the town if you have 15-20 mins to spare. Very peaceful at night with comfortable beds. Lovely gardens and ample parking. I've no doubt this place will change over the coming months under Maureen's management. She couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
22.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
16.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Property: Briers Country House
Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing