We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and well appointed and spacious room.”
Review of Beach House

Beach House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach House
Ranked #11 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and well appointed and spacious room.”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Attending a wedding at the nearby Slieve Donard, I found this through Tripadvisor and was more than pleased with the choice. The spacious bedroom had a fine view across the Irish Sea and the Slieve Donard was but a few minurtes walk. It is also close to a number of restaurants. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the full Irish breakfast excellent. Perhaps my only criticism would be that breakfast was served from 09.00, whihc seems a bit late and may inconvenience some.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
10
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

First time I stayed in a b&b, and it was beautiful, beach house is right at the sea front, with a beautiful view of the sea and the beach, room was 1st class and modern, clean and makes you feel at home, with an ensuit and tv, breakfast in the morning is brilliant lovely fry and toast and all, lovely b&b and owners to match it, would recommend this b&b to the queen

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillclimb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had two enjoyable nights at the Beach House and were very happy to have picked this B & B over others in the town. Myrtle is very friendly and helpful with information. Breakfasts were very good. Unfortunately a room on the seafront was not available but the room at the back was newly refurbished and bright and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My stay was worth it, since the room had a nice view to the sea. However, the heating system of the shower did not work and breakfast coud be better. For those travelling in a group, it would be wiser to stay in the youth hostel just nearby.

Higlight the firendliness of the owner who welcome the guests very warmly.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a nice view, although the bathroom is average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Room was OK, breakfast was poor and it was the most expensive of similar B&Bs that I stayed in in Ireland. £55 is too much!

Room Tip: Find somewhere cheaper if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conon Bridge
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

First to say what a beautiful part of the island of Ireland this area is. Doesn't get pushed as much as Galway or the Antrim coast but it is fantastic.

Arrived late afternoon after travelling from Drohgeda and warmly welcome. Good spacious rooms, well furnished and excellent shower. Great breakfast and a good blether in the morning. Very pleasant and excellent value.

Would have been a 5 but was in desperate need of a soak in the bath after a long haul round County Louth and Down to come in the morning! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for one night the first week in september and the b&b was ideal myrtle was great and would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in newcastle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House

Property: Beach House
Address: 22 Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Newcastle
Beach House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing