We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb family holiday!”

Review of Annie Frank's

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Powershower new bathoom Castlewellan Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Kitchen
Powershower new bathoom
Castlewellan Castle
King size brass bed
Castlewellan park
mouren mountains veiw from cottage
Lead to small woodland with tree house
castlewellan lake
Large slide under tree house
tree house set in small woodland beside cottage
Small woodland
Great footballer
Stone walled courtyard
Kitchen
View from slide
Living room
Half door
Time to set and talk
New friend
Chill and watch the kids play
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ChiaraK6
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb family holiday!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in the charming Annie Franks cottage. The setting is beautiful with a wonderful view over Burren. Living in the cottage was a great and atmospheric experience,particularly with the fire lit. Our three year old enjoyed collecting fresh eggs for her breakfast and loved the animals.We happily adopted two dogs, four chickens and a horse for the week.Roy the horse is beautiful and very friendly.Charlie and Alexus came to greet us every morning.Annie kindly took the kids on a horse ride and a lovely chat.Siobhan and John were were brilliant hosts and took good care of us. I would definitely recommend this getaway to family's looking for a week of excitement!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
68SMR
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hosts in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely and cosy - all that we hoped for.
John and Siobhan were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you John for your nightly fire-lighting skills and for the crack.
You were both kindness itself and we left feeling like old friends of the family.
We do hope to see you again.
With kind regards
Shauna and Marie

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanM0rga...
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Spot in the Whole of Ireland”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our, by far, best experience within Ireland with my wife and 2 kids.
From the location to the family that rents the property, an out and out excellent experience.

I really cannot say enough about The Quinn family – a beautiful family that does Castlewellan proud.

On arrival to our spotless cottage, we were greeted by John who shown the kids the surrounding grounds and animals-which blew us all away.
With a 15 year old and 11 year old, we were worrying that being a bit out in the countryside would leave them isolated, but with the amount of things
To do at the cottage-they never stopped! Everything is within 5 minutes..literally. Castlwellan town has great bars, beautiful restaurant in Maginns and
Castlewellan forest park is arguable the best in the North of Ireland.
Johns wife Siobhan has great knowledge of the surrounding area and towns and we were not disappointed when we went looking for the wee gems
That she recommended.

Truly a great find for us and the kids…we are already looking forward to next year and cannot thank the Quinn Family enough for our time there.
This is the first time I have ever used Trip Adviser—we needed to what we could to say thank you so much to John & Siobhan.

Seán & Maria Morgan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Family
Liked least: Having to go home, honestly
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda T
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most relaxing holiday I've had so far with two young children.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A huge thank you to The Quinn family for the tremendous welcome we received. Annie Frank's Cottage is beautiful, the setting is perfect overlooking the countryside. John, Siobhan, Annie & Frank are such a lovely family very friendly it was just like they were part of our own family. Both John & Siobhan were very helpful in terms of having great knowledge of places to go and visit, places to eat, advice on how best to get to somewhere. A special thank you to Frank for playing football with my son, he thinks Frank is great! The cottage has everything you need for a holiday, exceptionally clean and comfortable, lot's of toys for the children, books and information on where you are. The grounds which the cottage is set in was perfect for us and our small children aged 3 & 6. They both fell in love with Sam & Lexie the dogs and sometimes we were hard pushed to get our children to leave the cottage for the day, because they wanted to play on the Trampoline, play in the tree house, swing on the swings, play football with Frank (owners son). They loved getting up in the morning opening up and going to let the chickens & dogs out, sometimes feeding Roy the horse an apple if he was in his stable, then off they'd go and play until Mum & Dad got up (heaven)! There was so much to entertain them and with the electric gates to the accommodation being closed you knew they were safe! What I loved best about this place for me it was the freedom the kids had, while mum & dad sat sipping a glass of wine, listening to the sheep bleating and the kids laughing and taking in the great views it was truly relaxing. We hope to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere of the place.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MissyM00s
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just back from a wonderful week at this hidden gem! Travelled as a party with 3 children. The cottage is gorgeous & the views are second to none. The cottage was cosy, comfortable & spotlessly clean with modern shower room. The facilities on site for the children were fantastic, we couldn't go on day trips as the kids were so happy to stay and play!!! There is a little woodland hideaway with a cubby house & slide plus full use of gardens. The hosts were more than helpful and very friendly. Cannot fault our stay & and so happy to have found this little gem, hope to return perhaps for a little romantic getaway in the winter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extras for kids was like a private adventure playground also loved the quaint character of the cottage
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent cottage brilliant hosts ,thankyou”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

lovely cottage in pleasant surroundings and could not ask for better hosts in john &siobhan
would recommend cottage to anyone looking for a nice relaxing holiday away from the everday strife where you get a warm friendly welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice peacefull surroundings and nice views of mountains
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing