We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!! Best Holiday ever!!”

Review of Annie Frank's

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Powershower new bathoom Castlewellan Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Kitchen
Powershower new bathoom
Castlewellan Castle
King size brass bed
Castlewellan park
mouren mountains veiw from cottage
Lead to small woodland with tree house
castlewellan lake
Large slide under tree house
tree house set in small woodland beside cottage
Small woodland
Great footballer
Stone walled courtyard
Kitchen
View from slide
Living room
Half door
Time to set and talk
New friend
Chill and watch the kids play
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JOANNE W
LONDONDERRY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Amazing!! Best Holiday ever!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here from 12-19 Aug 17. What a week! Gem & Katie didnt want to come home! Neither did the adults! Stunning views & loads for the kids to do, they loved the tree house & trampoline! The dogs Sam & Lexus joined us every morning for breakfast! John & Siobhan made us soo welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them. We went as strangers but came home as friends. They recommended some great places to visit & we had good yarns & a laugh with them! The cottage was warm, clean & cosy & had everything we needed. Will definately return, was the best holiday we have been on! Thanks for everything John & Siobhan, a week we will never forget! Loads of great memories made! x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
204Diane2...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Second visit for the year.....just could not stay away from cute little cottage”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

It's hard to put into words how much we love this cute little cottage set in the foothills of the Mourne Mountains.
We had four more glorious days exploring this lovely area and enjoying the hospitality of Siobhan, John and their two delightful kids who we now consider family. We love it so much we are again returning in October 2017.
Nothing is too much trouble, for Siobhan and John, it is a cosy little cottage and toastie warm when the weather is bad. Beds are wonderful!
Haven't been in summer but imagine it would be every bit as lovely although we did like the winter and autumn experiences very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our time in this cosy comfy cottage. The owner kindly had all the heating on upon our arrival so it felt so welcoming and we settled in straight away. The beds were so comfy, with big fluffy duvets, we struggled to get out of them in the mornings, and of course the beautiful views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, couldn't find fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabanan...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A dream of cottage surroundings, facilities and surroundings”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My son, two grandaughters and myself have just come back from a two night stay in this beautiful cottage. The children did not want to leave and we had a wonderful time. Siobahn and John were great hosts and the children had a great time in the tree house,on the outside scooters and all the books toys in the house. would love to stay longer and hope to be able to arrage mit some time in future. Thank you very much. Loved loved loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The warm cosy atmosphere in Cottage
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
204Diane2...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cosy!”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was our first taste of beautiful Ireland and the beginning of our love affair with the place! John and Siobhan were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we had a glorious week in Annie Franks Cottage in the middle of winter...we absolutely loved it. It is quite out of the way but situated in the foothills of the majestic Mountsins of Mourne.. Picture postcard scenery everywhere. We feel we have friends for life with them and their delightful kids, so much so that we are going to re visit them for a couple of nights at the end of September before endeavouring to see what we missed out on this last time. 2 weeks is not enough time to do it justice you need at least 4!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't choose but meeting John and Siobhan rates pretty high as does the everything about Ireland d
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nobby839
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a young family.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hosts John and Siobhan were fantastic and very east to talk to. The cottage was well equipped for up to six people and the grounds were absolutely fantastic for young children. The view from the cottage was exhilarating and invigorating. Obtaining a phone signal was hit and miss but this only added to the away from it all feeling. We would certainly consider returning as we have lots more to see in the area as well as further afield. A totally relaxing experience and we were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and grounds.
Liked least: Kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMc75
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, wonderful, highly recommend, made our holiday even more special”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The best family holiday ever. Our hosts made us feel like family, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and more.

I travelled wih my partner and young (toddler) son and my parents and it was the loveliest cottage with superb views over the surrounding countryside - including a breathtaking view of the Mourne Mountains. I would never tire of looking at that view!

The cottage was spotless, it was charming and very comfortable. Lots of toys for my son too!

We stayed for a week and found it the perfect place to explore Northern Ireland, especially Co Dow. We were surrounded by beaches, historic fairytale castles, mountains, excellent eateries, we never found that we were bored - in fact we hope to go back again!

Without doubt Annie Franks is the most genuine, unforgettable and special place - a credit to self catering accomodation and I would have given it more stars if I could.

Can't recommend too highly, special hosts and a special cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts, toys for my son, view, location, cottage, etc etc
Liked least: nothing at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing