We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty and history”

Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
lurgan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beauty and history”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Called in at end of October. £4.50 for car with 5 passengers.
Sadly at this time of year the cafe is closed, however there are plenty of picnic tables and good car parking.
The area has a good selection of walks from 1.7km to the 10 km round trip to Ben Crom.
There is a lovely duck pond with seating and paths that take you to a small museum relating the history of the construction of the reservoirs that is eye opening, revealing the toil of those who constructed what was a major engineering feat of its time.
However the natural beauty of the area, that changes with the seasons is still the star of this attaction

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank don h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    89
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

i can only echo the good words of the previous reviewers. We were here in October. The weather was warm and sunny on the day. Enjoyed the walks and the inofrmation in the visitor Centre was fascinating. Only drawback, the cafe was not open. We would have loved a coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EllieKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The area is magnificent and unspoiled. The walks are great around both reservoirs.
I liked everything disliked nothing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, best on a still, warm day”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Another visit to Silent Valley with more friends. It combines really well with taking the High Mournes route, driving through the Mourne mountains. The entry fee of £4.50 per car is worth it. Children enjoy the the paths through the woodlands below the dams; the little museum gives a well put together insight into how the reservoirs and tunnels were built. Well constructed paths mean any mobility of visitor can reach the museum, cafe and first reservoir, the bus to Ben Crom often only runs at weekends, but if it is on, it's worth it for the impressive sight - it though can be cold, wet and windy up there, so choose your day well. I particularly love the cafe, with its friendly and helpful staff and home made soups (don't miss the healthy vegetable broth).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bamb00zled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Magical Place”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I and my family love the Silent Valley. The entire family including small children came during the concerts in the summer, the music was brilliant and some people were even dancing! we had a picnic with us and staff were very helpful with tables and chairs. Well worth a visit if you like a safe place with oustanding scenery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wholemeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs also viewed

 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing