We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday accommodation I have ever booked”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 7 The Carriages

7 The Carriages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 The Carriages
Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
7 The Carriages
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
En Suite
Twin Room
Twin Room
Family Bathroom
Newcastle View 4
Newcastle View 1
Newcastle View 2
Newcastle View 3
President Clinton at Royal County Down
Tiger Woods at Royal County Down
County Down Region
The Mournes from Golf Course
View to Golf Course from The Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joewI1088...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best holiday accommodation I have ever booked”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at 7 The Carriages.

From the beginning of the booking process all dealings with Tony the property owner have been great - everything was very clear and any questions answered quickly.

The property itself sits in a small courtyard sited just off the main road from Newcastle to Dundrum. It's about a leisurely 15 minute walk to the nearest end of Newcastle Main Street.

We were met at the accommodation by Tony, who is an absolute gentleman. He welcomed us, showed us around the apartment and explained how everything worked. There was a lovely touch of a nice welcome pack of milk, bread, tea, coffee, sugar and fruit; as well as a lovely bottle of Malbec. That was all very thoughtful - thank you for that Tony.

Entry is through a ground level door and up a flight of stairs to the apartment which sits on the first floor. There are ample parking spaces outside the apartment.

As some other reviewers have said, the photos on the Trip Advisor page do not do this apartment justice. The apartment was spotlessly clean and simply stunning - well laid out, very tastefully decorated and with all the comforts of home you could wish for - a washer/drier for laundry, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, ironing board, WiFi, SKY TV, DVD player etc.

In addition to all of the things listed above, there was a wide selection of DVD's, books and some games. There was also a quantity of very useful information about local activities, walks etc.

Bedroom accommodation is to the rear of the property. Both bedrooms overlook Royal County Down Golf Club. One room has 2 single beds and the other has a double bed with an en-suite with a shower unit. There is ample storage for clothes in both bedrooms. There is also a separate bathroom with a bath and an 'over bath' shower.

To summarise, we loved it at 7 The Carriages. If we travel to Newcastle again as a family it will be our guaranteed first choice for accommodation.

Thank you Tony for allowing me to book your apartment. We all loved it and all had a fantastic time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BelfastTe...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well Equipment Apartment”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment is located close to Newcastle center, about 15 minute walk, and backs onto the Royal County Down golf course. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The are 2 bedrooms accommodating 4 people and also a sofa bed in the living area. There is a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine, freezer and dishwasher. There is a small pretty balcony in the living area which overlooks the entrance to the development. All communications with the owner Tony were great and he was there to meet us on arrival. He also left some useful provisions and nice Malbec wine (very appreciated). The apartment is very comfortable and ideal for a short break. I would highly recommend it for use by to small groups or families who want clean comfortable accommodation close to Newcastle and the Mourne area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, three children and me had a phenomenal stay. Tony made sure there was someone their to greet us at a off schedule hour and there was a wonderful welcome package of necessities and some fruit and wine. When we met Tony himself you could understand why we felt so welcomed. The place is in great condition and was in a super location. I'd highly recommend it for anyone with a family for its convenience to Newcastle and nearby beaches. Anyone that loves golf would also be psyched because it literally looks over the best golf course on the planet RCD. Having come all the way from Boston USA we highly recommend our fellow yanks put this on their agenda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eileen P
Dublin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Aprtment is very well located close to Newcastle, Co Down golf club and the town. It was spotlessly clean with all modern conveniences. The apartment is very well laid out with two bedrooms, one en-suite. There is a lovely view over the the golf course from the bedrooms. The owner Tony was very helpful and went the extra mile to help us settle in. I would highly recommend this apartment and you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a fantastic stay me and my family had at 7 The Carriages. Upon arrival at the apartment we were met by Tony the owner who ran through all aspects of the apartment with us. He provided us with a beautiful bottle of wine and lots of amenities such as bread, butter, milk, fresh fruit. The apartment was spacious and immaculate and in a brilliant location. It is a 2min drive into the seaside town of Newcastle and around a 10min walk. The views from the bedrooms are of a golf course and on a clear day from the living room you can see the mountains of Mourne. Free parking is also included in the rental. We enjoyed our stay so much, we will definitely be returning in the future. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Tony.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing