We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Accommodation and Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 7 The Carriages

7 The Carriages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 The Carriages
Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
7 The Carriages
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
En Suite
Twin Room
Twin Room
Family Bathroom
Newcastle View 4
Newcastle View 1
Newcastle View 2
Newcastle View 3
President Clinton at Royal County Down
Tiger Woods at Royal County Down
County Down Region
The Mournes from Golf Course
View to Golf Course from The Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SusanH270...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We booked The Carriages for two nights as a family of 4 and a child attending a Wedding in Newcastle.
We were met by Tony and shown round the beautiful, spotless, modern, spacious, extremely comfortable apartment. Such a lovely touch to find bread, butter, milk, juice and several other necessities supplied and even a bottle of wine. All very much appreciated. Tony was most attentive and helpful as had been from the start when booking was made.
The bedrooms overlooked the golf course which is beautiful and the Mountains of Mourne were just stunning
We took a lovely walk into Newcastle along the beach front. It's such a pretty town, we were most impressed.
We absolutely loved the apartment (home from home) and Newcastle and wished we had longer there.
Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammerabz
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOLFING HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Most comfortable and clean accommodation with everything we could possibly need for our holiday. Good location, quiet and a nice stroll away for the town. We were so lucky with the weather. We would most certainly stay here again. Thank you Tony.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gareth C
1 review
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a week spent at Tony's apartment. Absolutely first class. Very clean, spacious, upstairs apartment, which we would not hesitate to use again. Thank you Tony for the lovely food you left too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best holiday accommodation I have ever booked”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at 7 The Carriages.

From the beginning of the booking process all dealings with Tony the property owner have been great - everything was very clear and any questions answered quickly.

The property itself sits in a small courtyard sited just off the main road from Newcastle to Dundrum. It's about a leisurely 15 minute walk to the nearest end of Newcastle Main Street.

We were met at the accommodation by Tony, who is an absolute gentleman. He welcomed us, showed us around the apartment and explained how everything worked. There was a lovely touch of a nice welcome pack of milk, bread, tea, coffee, sugar and fruit; as well as a lovely bottle of Malbec. That was all very thoughtful - thank you for that Tony.

Entry is through a ground level door and up a flight of stairs to the apartment which sits on the first floor. There are ample parking spaces outside the apartment.

As some other reviewers have said, the photos on the Trip Advisor page do not do this apartment justice. The apartment was spotlessly clean and simply stunning - well laid out, very tastefully decorated and with all the comforts of home you could wish for - a washer/drier for laundry, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, ironing board, WiFi, SKY TV, DVD player etc.

In addition to all of the things listed above, there was a wide selection of DVD's, books and some games. There was also a quantity of very useful information about local activities, walks etc.

Bedroom accommodation is to the rear of the property. Both bedrooms overlook Royal County Down Golf Club. One room has 2 single beds and the other has a double bed with an en-suite with a shower unit. There is ample storage for clothes in both bedrooms. There is also a separate bathroom with a bath and an 'over bath' shower.

To summarise, we loved it at 7 The Carriages. If we travel to Newcastle again as a family it will be our guaranteed first choice for accommodation.

Thank you Tony for allowing me to book your apartment. We all loved it and all had a fantastic time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BelfastTe...
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well Equipment Apartment”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment is located close to Newcastle center, about 15 minute walk, and backs onto the Royal County Down golf course. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The are 2 bedrooms accommodating 4 people and also a sofa bed in the living area. There is a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine, freezer and dishwasher. There is a small pretty balcony in the living area which overlooks the entrance to the development. All communications with the owner Tony were great and he was there to meet us on arrival. He also left some useful provisions and nice Malbec wine (very appreciated). The apartment is very comfortable and ideal for a short break. I would highly recommend it for use by to small groups or families who want clean comfortable accommodation close to Newcastle and the Mourne area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing