We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cherryhill Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
204
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcherry hillsconesgranolamourne mountainsb bfreshly squeezed orange juiceself catering apartmentgreat hostsfantastic breakfasthome madevisiting newcastlewheat breadher husbandlovely housefull irishstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Cherry Hill Lodge is a B&B with self catering also available. My wife and our 3 children stayed in the Loft self catering studio apartment.

On arrival we were greeted by the warm friendly face of the owner called Patricia who showed us round and gave us beautiful homemade scones, jam and fresh bread.

The first thing we noticed was the beautiful setting on the back drop of the mourne mountains and donard park.

The boys had an absolute blast in the massive garden safely enclosed at the rear of the property. They enjoyed football, rugby and playing tennis in the courts also located in the back garden.

The location was excellent. 5 minutes from newcastle town centre by car and Tollymore forest park just 2 minutes up the road.

This place is perfect for a relaxin fun filled break for all the family and would also be perfect for keen hikers and cyclists.

I could not recommend the Cherry Hill Lodge and the hospitality of the family that own it highly enough. We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjackson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Glenn it was a delight having your family stay in The Loft and great that your boys enjoyed our back garden. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cherryhill Lodge in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Garden Room.
Soft Bed.
Superb view.
The most gracious hosts we encountered on our trip.
Be advised that the location is further up the road than our GPS advised us, but the name and street number is well marked,

And I have nothing else to add but Trip Advisor sez my reviews must be at least 200 characters so I am just biding my time until I reach that number. This is not an easy thing to do nd I have to add that after a three week trip to beautiful Ireland I have a lot of reviews to publish so forgive me for this short cut.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are glad you felt like home at Cherryhill Lodge and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cherryhill Lodge. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at Cherryhill Lodge for a weekend while in Newcastle for a wedding. Everything about our stay here was wonderful, a pretty room with a comfortable bed and beautiful views of the garden and the mountain. The breakfasts were delicious and the house was often filled with the tantalising smells of homemade scones and bread. Our hosts were charming and nothing was too much to ask of them. We'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks Peta for taking the time to write this review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and our homemade breakfast. Would love to see you back at Cherryhill Lodge some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stay here for my 30th, from the minute we arrived we were treated so well, very friendly & helpful... The loft was just beautiful and the view was outstanding, a real hidden gem in Newcastle. Patricia couldn't do enough for us and even took us in to the town Center later that evening, the breakfast was really lovely, home made juice and bread.. If you're lucky to get a clear night, the stars are something special to see.. Can't wait to come back and stay....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thanks very much for the kind words Nicole. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to any further stays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

3 female adult friends stayed in the loft over a weekend, value for money for a self catering apartment was excellent, welcome from the family was lovely and fresh made bread and wine an extra never received before. Open plan style with double bed in the same room as the living room and kitchen wouldn't suit everyone but it was fine and could probably fit 5 if 2 doubled up on the bed settee. The loft is spacious, the decor and fittings made from quality products, self catering equipment ample and if anything was missing owner made it clear it would be provided.

Really very lovely, higly recommended for both service and value for money!! Well done Patricia. x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi Helen,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your friends stay with us, and I am really glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews