We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house in beautiful location.”
Review of Cherryhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherryhill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lurgan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great house in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Loved our stay and will definitely be back. Lovely place to stay. Have always loved the Mournes and to stay in a place looking into mountains was wonderful. Our hosts were friendly and helped by recommending a great place to eat in the evening. Hope its not long before we can enjoy here again. If you get a chance stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonerobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
107
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here as a birthday treat in May 2014 and had a really lovely stay; it was super accommodation with stunning views. Patricia and John were very nice, friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Garden room, which had a fab view of the Mourne mountains and lovely garden. The room was nice and clean with a very comfy bed and great shower. The only thing I would say is to definitely remember your toiletries as it was only hand soap in the bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic, all very fresh and much of it homemade. We skipped lunch as we were still full after the large feed we had! We definitely hope to return again as it's a great spot to enjoy the rest of what Newcastle has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CLABELFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stopped in the loft for 2 nights in early May. We found the Lodge beautiful with some truly stunning views of the mountains and gardens. The owners of the lodge were extremely friendly and very accommodating to our needs (even ironing my shirt for me). The breakfasts provided were delicious and the homemade bread a really treat. The loft itself was beautifully decorated and had all the modern touches mixed with the vintage oak beams. The only negative was that the shower seemed slightly underpowered but that was a minor issue in what was a fantastic place. We would happily return in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review James, we like the picture that you added also. It is always nice to hear from our guests, and I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay. Regarding the shower, we are currently looking at improving it, thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My stay at cherry tree lodge was fantastic. From the rooms with a spectacular view, to the service i received. The location was a 5 minuite drive to a lovely little village where i enjoyed a very nice meal. I was made to feel very welcome and would definately look to stay here again. I was on business on this ocassion but i would also look to go back for pleasure in the future

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payney1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Newcastle has a great selection of restaurants and it is nice to hear you enjoyed your meal. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I LOVE this home. LOVE IT. We arrived early, around 1, with the intent to go hike up Slieve Donard, and she welcomed us with open arms and even fed us a quick snack with homemade scones, cranberry preserves, homemade bread and cheese. Wonderful cook. Then they drove us to where Slieve Donard started, even. Her menu for breakfast is big with lots of choices. And the home was totally remodeled a couple years ago. It's so beautiful and pristine. They are right at the base of the Mourne mountains on a large lot of land. Gorgeous landscaped backyard. What a view! We are so grateful we chose Cherryhill. They treated us like family and were so delightful and warm and accomdating. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Lori, thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review! We really enjoyed having the four of you stay for us and even though you were only able to stay one night, you still managed to get a lot in. Would love to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely homemade wheaten and jam on arrival, lovely surroundings and a peaceful place to spend a weekend away. Run by very kind people who even offered to drive us to the wedding party, highly recommended, would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0uga5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay at Cherryhill Lodge, and would love to see you back again soon. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon. We stayed in the loft and it was so clean when we arrived and couldn't ask for better service nothing was a problem if we needed anything the owners were more then happy to help. It was so relaxing exactly what we wanted and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wawa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It was lovely to have you at Cherryhill Lodge for your honeymoon, and we would love to have you back in the future. Contact us for latest offers if you are ever in Newcastle again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherryhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherryhill Lodge

Property: Cherryhill Lodge
Address: 98 Tullybrannigan Road, Newcastle BT33 0PW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherryhill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherryhill Lodge is a beautiful new build home, situated at the foot of the scenic Mourne Mountains. We are delighted to offer both bed and breakfast in our 3 luxurious rooms, The Garden Room and The Front Room, as well as in our adjoining studio The Loft, where self-catering is also available. We have been open for business since October 2012 and are thoroughly enjoying sharing our home and our views of the Mournes with our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherryhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherryhill Lodge Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing