We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality”
Review of Cherryhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherryhill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room and the views and the accomodations were absolutely lovely. Patricia made us feel like family coming home, and John would do anything for you, including drive you into town and serve the most delicious breakfast with stewed rhubarb straight out of the garden. We were planning a one night stay, and happily made it two. The area is also beautiful and was a highlight of our trip. Lovely hikes right outside the door, and delicious restaurants in town. A beautiful and comfortable home, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beachmum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We were delighted you extended your stay at Cherryhill Lodge and really appreciate taking the time to leave this review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay, and we enjoyed having you stay with us also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Cherryhill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked the lodge for 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful spot, stunning views and superb hospitality. Well done to the owners for bringing this little gem on to the hospitality market!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoisinMcBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks very much Roisin for this review, we wish you could have stayed longer also! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you stay at Cherryhill Lodge again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After preparing for our five week drive around Ireland we two Aussies have one regret, we didn't allow more time at this venue and in Newcastle. The accommodation was outstanding with great hosts Patricia and John. We stayed in the loft and it was clear these guys know hospitality, everything first class in a homely environment. The town is picturesque and the area a real walking Mecca. Great new promenade development and township. We commented that in all the Irish travel information this area was a bit underdone. Recommend the tourist drive to Belfast the Mourne Coastal drive or reverse to Newcastle. Whatever give this accommodation at least a couple of days. Thanks Cherryhill Lodge . Ps breakfast great. Brian and Leanne June 2014

Room Tip: Go the loft worth extra but others rooms seem great also
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Brian, thanks for the review, it was a real pleasure meeting you and exchanging our mutual interest in sport. We are very fortunate that Newcastle has plenty to offer, with Tollymore, Slieve Donard, Royal County Down golf club and Murlough to mention a few. We are glad you and Leanne enjoyed your stay at Cherryhill Lodge, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a fantastic welcome and however hard I try I can not think of a single thing I could fault. We arrived at cherryhill with our three roudy sons and 120lb dog to a warm welcome with home baked biscuits which were out of this world and were shown to our beautiful room filled with fresh flowers from the stunning garden which our room looked out on to. The boys and the dog had the loft which was spacious and spotlessly clean ( when they arrived at least!). I mentioned I was researching my family tree and Patricia put me in touch with a neighbour who had the same surname. There was a huge choice for breakfast which was all cooked to perfection including home baked breads and freshly squeezed orange juice. My husband was leaving on a business trip as soon as we arrived home so we found a launderette but Patricia insisted on doing a load for us while we were out for the day in Belfast and her son offered to look after the dog so we didn't need to rush back. We really were welcomed into a beautiful home by the whole of the wonderful cherryhill family and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 553traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

It was a pleasure having your whole family stay with us at Cherryhill Lodge, including your gorgeous Newfoundland dog! We are glad that your boys managed to strike a few activities off their bucket list and we enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of May 2014. It was a perfect base to explore the surrounding area before proceeding further north to Derry. Patricia & John were excellent hosts and provided a wonderful service including lots of recommendations & information on places to visit. The accommodation, breakfasts and facilities were 1st class and we will certainly stay there again. We have already recommended it to our friends & have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants to visit Newcastle and the Mourne area.

Iggy - Reading Berkshire

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank igsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia M, Owner at Cherryhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for your kind words Iggy and it is much appreciated that you recommend Cherryhill Lodge, we would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cherryhill Lodge for our friends wedding in May. Patricia and John are two of the nicest,welcoming people I've had the pleasure to have met. The house and gardens are second to none and the care and attention they put into your stay will make you feel at home. We loved all the little touches; the fresh cakes in the room each day and the breakfast was awesome, the shower was that good I didn't want to get out and the bed was extremely comfy. 5 stars all the way. Absolutely beautiful, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Loved our stay and will definitely be back. Lovely place to stay. Have always loved the Mournes and to stay in a place looking into mountains was wonderful. Our hosts were friendly and helped by recommending a great place to eat in the evening. Hope its not long before we can enjoy here again. If you get a chance stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramonerobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
25 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherryhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherryhill Lodge

Address: 98 Tullybrannigan Road, Newcastle BT33 0PW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherryhill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherryhill Lodge is a beautiful new build home, situated at the foot of the scenic Mourne Mountains. We are delighted to offer both bed and breakfast in our 3 luxurious rooms, The Garden Room and The Front Room, as well as in our adjoining studio The Loft, where self-catering is also available. We have been open for business since October 2012 and are thoroughly enjoying sharing our home and our views of the Mournes with our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Cherryhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherryhill Lodge Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing