We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to stay again”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
My Bonnie chillaxing in the sun
Front bedroom
Bathroom
Full Bath with overhead electric shower
Private back garden
Patio area
View from back garden across the bay
View from front garden towards Newcastle
View of shore at back of harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nthurston...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Can't wait to stay again”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Everything was perfect, from Anne meeting us when we arrived to answer all our questions to the coal fire when it was snowing. It's a wonderful location with great views and we wished we had planned to stay longer. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Neil thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for the cottage. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking. Sorry the weather could not have been better. Next time you both visit please do stay a while longer. Take care, Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thanks Valerie for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to your liking. Also it was very important that wee Ralphie enjoyed his doggie holiday as well. Hope to see you both back again at Widows Row.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Comber, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Barry, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review, not only of the cottage, but also the surrounding area. So glad that you and Margaret decided to spend you anniversary in Widows Row and I look forward to welcoming you again anytime you wish. Take Care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Anne, thank you so much for such a great, and extremely prompt, review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed Christmas in the cottage and that it provided you with everything you needed. Every year I have guests staying over the Christmas and New Year holidays and they always tell me it is just perfect place to spend those days. So it makes me very happy that other people enjoy the cottage at these special times of the year. Thank you again for spending your Christmas in Widows Row and maybe I will see you again in the future. Take Care and best wishes for 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
denandear...
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We booked this charming little Cottage a few months ago, and we were looking forward to going there. And we were not disappointed. We arrived late in the afternoon and was met by Anne the owner. A delightful warm and friendly Lady, who made us so welcome. It was a cold day and Anne had the house nice and warm for us. And to our surprise had the Christmas decorations up which just added that special touch to the cottage. The cottage it self was spotlessly clean and every thing we need was there. Bedrooms where amazingly well decorated and the beds where so comfortable. The bed linen was pristine. Newcastle is a wonderful place for a holiday and so much to do and see. The views from the Cottage are breath taking and the sea is at your front door, great walks as well. On our way home from our great weekend my partner forgot his wedding ring, and we telephoned Anne who met us at the Cottage and I know she was busy that day, but nothing was too much trouble for her. Such a Lady. We have booked again for next year for a longer stay and we can honestly say we can't wait to return. Thank you Anne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great WIFI. Great Cottage
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Dennis, thank you so much for such a glowing review. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and found the cottage so comfortable. Nothing is to much trouble for me when it comes to my guests. It's what I do and I am very happy to do it. I suppose that is why I have so many repeat customers. Looking forward to seeing both of you next year again. Enjoy Christmas and best wishes for 2015. Take Care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papafitch
Erps-Kwerps, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely,cosy cottage, ideal for all”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The owner Anne iis really friendly, meets you on arrival and shows you round..The property is well located, fully equipped and a real home from home. Kids liked the proximity to the forest for walks and the local pub was warm and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness
Liked least: no wifi, however we enjoyed our days without it for a change
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Hello Mark
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that the WiFi was not up and running when you arrived as it had just been ordered the week before. In fact the parcel you took delivery of on the Saturday morning was indeed the router. Most of my guests are happy to get away from the world of technology for a while but Widows Row now offers a Free WiFi service. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the kids had a good time. Regards Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblinr0...
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage....Great location.....Lovely owner!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Without a doubt one of the nicest cottages I have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, cosy, warm, great location and views, quite and so comfortable with all the equipment you will ever need. Walks up to the Mourne Mountains from the back door. Anne, the owner, could not have been friendlier or more accommodating (even after I had kept her waiting....Sorry Anne) . Would highly recommend this cottage to any and everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard and quality of both property and care of guests.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Rose, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'm so pleased both you and your sister and of course the handsome Baxter,enjoyed your time in Newcastle and that the cottage provided everything you needed. It was a pleasure to have such lovely ladies come to stay, and all the neighbours commented that Baxter was such a beautiful dog. You are always welcome at Widows Row. Maybe I will see you again in the future. Take Care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing