We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

OLDFART40
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this gorgeous cottage in late July. Weather was dreadful and we're so glad we stayed at Anne's cottage. We booked it for us,our labradoodle and my in laws joined us for 2 nights. She has provided everything you could possibly want for a self catering holiday. It is a snug cottage,more suited to a couple rather than 2 couples, if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the cottage I.e when the weather is dreadful!! Everything you could want is close by,lovely pub just down the road with great food and a pub quiz on Fridays. (Harbour Inn). 15 minute walking distance from Newcastle,half hour walk to Slieve Donnard hotel.
At the back of the cottage is easy access straight onto the mountain trails. Highly recommend this cottage. Left fond memories that'll last forever. Anne cares about your holiday being perfect and it shows. Loved our break,as did our dog! Oh and finally,the views are stunning!!

Date of stay: July 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I know it is difficult when the weather is bad and unfortunately I think you got the worst week of the summer, but by all accounts you enjoyed your time in Newcastle and the cottage. Thank you for coming to stay, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Widows Row. Take care . Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the sea
Liked least: No dishwasher!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the weather though. I know it wasn't great for Richard's golf. Take care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thanks Lee for taking the time to leave a great review. Much appreciated. I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. You'll just have to come back for a longer visit next time. Take care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Widows Row cottage. Thanks for leaving the review, much appreciated. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pattiil
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Incredible views/cozy home”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Anne, our host, was awesome! It was like visiting family! Widows Row was warm and inviting, comfortable and has incredible views of the bay and Newcastle. If you are lucky enough to get a booking, go for it!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks Nicholas for taking the time to leave your review. I know the family's visit was short and you had 4 seasons in one day with the weather but I'm pleased you enjoyed you visit to Newcastle and Widows Row. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to southern Ireland and France. You really did cover some ground! Give my regards to the rest of the family and thanks for choosing to stay at the cottage. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songdoc
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'm not sure what was better--the accommodations--or Anne, the proprietress. We loved the cottage and Anne couldn't have been more helpful. She had even picked up some groceries for us! We loved the setting, the lovely cottage, the coal fire, and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nthurston...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Can't wait to stay again”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Everything was perfect, from Anne meeting us when we arrived to answer all our questions to the coal fire when it was snowing. It's a wonderful location with great views and we wished we had planned to stay longer. We look forward to returning.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Neil thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for the cottage. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking. Sorry the weather could not have been better. Next time you both visit please do stay a while longer. Take care, Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.