We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint little place with the friendliest staff”
Review of Harbour House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour House Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A quaint little place with the friendliest staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a lovely two night stay here. Fantastic atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. Great meals and breakfast was cooked to order...delicious.

The rooms are cute and pokey but clean as a whistle.

Bar and restaurant staff were the friendliest and enjoyed our many chats with them.

Highly recommended with great views.

P.S. Thankyou Francis, the girls loved your note and you definitely made it into the diary!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    42
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
42
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Came to have a bite to eat 12th July, able to squeeze us in on a very busy night. Staff were excellent, especially the lady serving in the restaurant.Food was excellent and perfect for kids! Do not let the decor and mishmashed menu put you off, this place is great and reasonably priced!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickwtmullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Its exactly what its says on the TIN. The Harbour Inn, offers excellent food, fantastic views of the sea as the tide rolls in and out. Picture it, we sat beside the turf fire, eating fresh fish platter with chilled white wine. Absolutely priceless. Frank, Francis, Jeanette, Paul, Michael and Co, are great craic & always welcoming. We stayed on a Sunday nite, and what a surprise, the local musicans arrived one by one, eventually finished with 12 x musicans all taking turns to sing different lively tunes. Brilliant nites craic. PS:- can highly recommend the Irish coffees, Michael makes a great Irish coffee, and Frank pulls a great pint of Guinness. What more could you ask for. Can't wait to get back. See you very soon Harbour Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms are basic, BUT the view is Priceless, ask for a sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hi to Frankie and Franco
We were a group of 20+ golfers over for the County Down golf tournament, we hired all the rooms for 4 nights and I must say the owners couldnt do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. The food and service was excellent. The Harbour Inn made our stay unforgettable unlike the golf, and Frankie you make a great mattress!!!!!
Thanks again and we will see you on the next Downs tour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vrocky617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Travelled from Limavady stayed from Monday to Wednesday all I can say it was great! Our room looked over the bay right to Dundrrum - what a view night and day and very clean, neat and tidy! ! Staff very welcoming and craic good, We ate breafast " scramble egg, bacon and trimmings good start for the morning before you hit the hills! As for evening meal I would recommend the fish pie, warm and delicious on a blustery day!. The local clientelle made you feel as if you had called into your local - only downside tips for Punshestown but i will be back to get them on the right trak hope to see you all again soon! PS I cant remember his name but he is 75 on 30th heres to you and dont drink too much white wine!!

Room Tip: If you get a chance book room 9 the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsnGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We bought a Groupon voucher for £65 for 2 nights. We arrived on Friday afternoon. The entrance and check in was anything but welcoming. The staff were gathered at the bar chatting and no one even looked up. The lady who booked us in was very abrupt and announced there would be an extra charge of £30 for our small son, though I was told on the phone the previous day there wouldn't be. We were then shown to our room.

The place smells really bad.

The general level of cleanliness was shockingly bad.
-The room smelt like a mixture of sweaty feet and BO.
-There was pubic hair on the bed sheets and pillows.
-The toilet seat was broken and the shower head had black mold growing on it.
-The furniture was all very worn and in a bad state of repair.
-No controller for the TV
-The bed was squeaked loudly and the springs were practically coming through. It sloped badly to one side.


Overall, I would say this is the absolute worst place I have ever stayed in.. And we didn't stay long. We checked in at 4.30pm and checked out again at 10.30pm.

Such a shame as location wise, it is beautiful.

Avoid at all costs is my advice for anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank its_jemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a hotel, a pub with rooms and a restaurant. Very friendly and efficient staff. Groupon deal was excellent value. Rooms are clean and comfortable with modern en suite shower room - what more do you need? With the magnificent Mourne Mountains as a backdrop, this is a perfect base from which to explore the area. The Stone Boat Restaurant offers first class food at very affordable prices. The bonus was the regular Sunday night session. As a regular at and in sessions for many years, a tsumani of guitars coming through the door was a little worrying, but the result was surprisingly good. Very few sessions could produce jaw dropping Pink Floyd covers but this one did. Kudos to all involved. I would go back just for another Sunday night.

Room Tip: Rooms at front suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadineedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
150 reviews
18.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Property: Harbour House Inn
Address: 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing