We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, friendly staff”
Review of Harbour House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour House Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I ate dinner here. The food was fresh, the staff were genuinely friendly, the view of Newcastle harbour is great and the price was right (they have a good senior citizen deal). We didn't feel hurried - we even sat and read books at the end of the meal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WilsonAgape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you want a great meal in Newcastle and great hospitality - this is the place to go! Didn't stay here but would definitely consider it. Staff are so friendly and nothing is a bother to them. View is amazing!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank wilma74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

When we walked in I wasn't sure what to expect, not fancy in anyway a real pub setting. The staff and service we received within minutes of our arrival was outstanding and so accommodating. The best service I've ever received anywhere and the best fish chips I've ever eaten. Next time I'm in Ireland I will definitely go back and will stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

my family have wanted to go to this place for many years and during the summer we finally went, it was a lovely day so we decided to have the meal outside, the scenery was beautiful but that was the only thing, we went up and ordered at the bar then when our food eventually came at different times may i add the food was cold already, all the food was cold and terrible,

the one meal which sticks out in my head was my mums seafood plater, the muscles we full sand and were defiantly not washed and the oyster was freezing cold, then once my dad had got his steak, his chips took a further ten minutes to come and by that time his steak was cold.

my sister got a caesar salad and it was just about edible.

mine was average.

although i must say the staff were friendly and very apologetic about this

we will NEVER be back

TLTR: food sucked, came at different times, sand all over the seafood plater but staff were sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank don10053827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed there on a 3 night break and on arrival we were met By Frances and her two daughters who were busy decorating the place for Halloween. Very nice and friendly and greeted us very warmly. Frances went out of her way to make sure we had the TV in the lounge tuned in for the live Ulster rugby match on the Friday evening. Our room which was number 2 was clean and the bed was fresh but was extremely uncomfortable and both myself and my partner both experienced back ache which resulted in lack of sleep for the three nights stayed. The mattress was completely shot and resembled more a hammock hence the sore backs.
Food was good but on one occasion the fried breakfast was saturated in cooking fat, everything looked like it was cooked in the deep fat fryer. Staff were very friendly and the entertainment was excellent and the Guinness was good and the chowder was heaven. All in all except for the bed it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try the bed first !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Walking from Murlough beach upto the Harbour bar we decided on a little lunchtime snack. We shared the duck spring rolls and large prawn open sandwich - which were both delicious! The back part of the outside sitting area is for smokers and wasn't cleared up or clean, however when our food arrived we moved round to the side as it was a nice sunny day and enjoyed the views. Staff very friendly and service also good, from the areas we seen (ie not the restaurant) its a bar type setting, not fancy in anyway, however was fine for a quick bit to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights with another couple in early September.
From our arrival to leaving Frank, Francis and all, could not have been more friendly and accommodating.
Our rooms and the bar areas were clean and comfortable.
They did a good quiz one night, and live music on two other nights, the "locals" session being particularly enjoyable.
We had very good meals in the bar and also the restaurant, would recommend the meal deal if available, large platter for two with a bottle of wine !

To sum up, a typical friendly pub/inn not a character less spotless hotel - just what we like !

Newcastle itself is a very nice town, with excellent walks along the promenade, which appears to have been recently refurbed. A convenient location for exploring the area.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camptalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
11.4 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Address: Inn Newcastle 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing