We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor overall”
Review of Harbour House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour House Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very poor overall”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having booked a table for two we arrived only to be given a very basic lunch menu. This was not the menu which we discussed with the staff member on the telephone the day before. We had been assured that all menus were available at all times in all areas. To be fair our server tried to resolve the issue but reported back that the chef was having a bad day an that the lesser menu was all that was available. The food was abysmal, worse than any school dinner I ever had. Miraculously as we were leaving the full menu was made available to other customers however we noted that a number had similar problems to ourselves an indeed one table of customers left without eating. On finishing our dessert we were promptly offer our bill without the opportunity to order further beverages or services. We promptly paid the bill an left. Very disappointing, we will never return.

Room Tip: Not applicable as we did not stay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panthea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    42
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
42
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for a meal only. Hadn't booked and they tried to accommodate us but 5 of us were seated at a table for 2 and it was never going to work. They moved us. The food is good but the waitresses don't seem to be trained,lots of empty glasses not lifted,having to ask to see the dessert menu, and at the end they couldn't find the bill. All in all, good food but there's just something lacking on the service front. A shame because it's a good spot. An easy fix I would think........?

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MajRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My daughter organised my 70th birthday do for all the family, about 50+, and tells me staff were very helpful & accomodating. The do was similar: nothing was too much trouble, all very helpful & friendly in a lovely relaxed setting. Interesting place full of marine nick knacks, handy parking, .....couldn't have asked for anything better. So thanks to Frances and all the staff.
Jim O

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I've been here a few times and whilst the staff are brilliant the food seems to have gone downhill. We travelled here to eat an evening meal and I ordered a Steak and Guinness pie off the specials board. I was extremely disappointed to get something which reminded me of school dinners, made with too much bisto. Great pub atmosphere, but the food has become woeful of late.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emucun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

this place is excellent for money. they do a deal called captains table with a bottle of wine and a double room for 80 a nite. if your gonna stay in any room ask for room 8. its lovely at night looking over newcastle. the rooms are spotless. the staff are friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night and could have stayed for another week, loved the food, staff very friendly especially Carla (i think that was her name!). Great room with sea view, they should have pictures of their rooms on their website! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently had a meal at the Harbour House Inn but were not very impressed. Firstly it seemed too much trouble to get us a table, no suggestion of waiting at the bar until one was free, luckily other customers said they were leaving and let us have their table. I asked about the restaurant next door and was told it was fully booked although no-one used it the whole time we were there. Most of the staff were friendly, although one girl seemed as if she couldn't be bothered and another one called Francis was quite rude. The food was just OK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NikNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Property: Harbour House Inn
Address: 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing