We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Hunters - CLOSED

Hunters
Cuisines: European, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hunters Railway St is a fully licensed, 52 seater restaurant in the heart of Newcastle, co Down. We are opposite the Slieve Donard Hotel and Royal County Down golf course. Our food uses humble local produce and precise cooking methods to deliver beautiful flavors. We take great pride in creating a relaxed, yet professional atmosphere for the diner to enjoy their surroundings, food and company.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This café served excellent food all prepared from scratch, the staff were beautiful. Possibly the most delicious fish pie I have ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was at Hunter's for a meal last night, and the food was lovely - the crispy duck spring rolls for a starter are lovely and the early bird menu is great value.
Staff were very friendly too - will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great casual dining with excellent food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The maître d'/ partner of the chef was incredibly attentive and helpful. The dining room is modern and spacious. The food was well conceived and well prepared. The staff was the most attentive we've had in Ireland over the last week and a hall of vacation here. Great food and great experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Co. Down
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local resident”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We eat out regularly in Newcastle and tend to go back to the tried and tested cafes/restaurants. Since previous owners of this venue were not very successful we didn't think of eating here. However, this evening, we have just had a delicious meal from the early bird menu, beautifully cooked and presented with the best of attention and service, lovely friendly professional staff. Among us we had the duck spring rolls starter, very fresh with good ingredients, mains of the fish pie full of tasty salmon, smoked haddock etc, vegetable burger, very tasty, all accompanied by fresh crisp salad. Very reasonable prices and a pleasant atmosphere with music to my taste in the background. A previous reviewer referred to a restaurant across the road, if it's the one I'm thinking of there is no comparison, Hunters is far superior. I will tell my friends about it and intend to eat there regularly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pavlova k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were to eat in the hotel opposite but the restaurant was grubby & not very appealing so we decided to take a walk & see if there was somewhere nicer as it was a special occasion.
We came across Hunters & are very glad we did.
The staff were pleasant and helpful & setup a table for us at the window as soon as we entered.
Service was prompt and although the menu wasn't extensive, there would be something to suit most people.
The food was really good - fresh, well presented & enough of it.
I just wish I could physically lift the restaurant & set it within a nicer position within Newcastle as it deserves to be busier and better known.
Will definitely visit again & recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryK-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing