We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short stay - unfortunately”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rourke's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Happdays1...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short stay - unfortunately”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cluster of self catering houses is amazing. We stayed in Mooville which has wonderful views of the sea and the mountain to the rear. Everything is to a very high spec - it is cosy and warm and very well equipped. There is an outside area for sitting sheltered from the winds and a patio area outside the lounge. John and Myrtle were very welcoming and there were homemade biscuits for our first cup of tea. They are happy to accommodate a dog and it is very suitable for them as it is tiled throughout and has a utility room. Unfortunately my little dog Finn was so excited to be there that he took a running jump off the patio decking (not high) and ruptured his cruciate ligament. This meant we had to leave the next day instead of staying for three - nothing at all to do with the cottage - just such an exciting place to be for a dog and wonderful place to stay for the rest of us.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Having to leave early because of the dog!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a stunning location in this beautiful part of Northern Ireland - we had views of the sea and the mountains. The cottage is luxurious - beautifully decorated and very well equipped. You are a short drive away from mountain walks, beaches, forest parks and great restaurants. I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glitterdi...
divaland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not quite sure....”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Why these are only 4 stars! Stunning location and so well equipped.
The cottages are beautiful, the real wow factor. We stayed for a long weekend and loved it. We are familiar with the area... A taxi into Newcastle one evening was £6.

The cottages have all mod cons and more! So very comfortable and the decor is fantastic.

A huge plus for us is the Dog friendly option. They need to be well behaved but we thought it was fab to be able to take our two on our weekend as they enjoyed every minute too.

Perhaps a hairdryer would give the extra star and a more comprehensive guide book..just a suggestion. Would definitely return and we have already recommended. It would be a great spot to take a group of friends and family, they could all have their own space.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: It is more expensive but worth every penny.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elster201...
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superbly equipped and situated cottage in a beautiful setting between mountains and sea”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is spacious, spotless and very tastefully furnished. Myrtle couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with her tips about the area. We felt very much at home and look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ld3363
N.I.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We actually stayed in seefin cottage, but it is basically the same as this. Myrtle is so .friendly, nothing is a problem. Home-based goodies on arrival. We've stayed in a lot of holiday homes but this was one of the best. So well presented, comfortable and well equipped. Fantastic llocation and scenery as well. We'll definitely be back again

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, they are really much appreciated. We take great pride in making sure our cottages are cosy and comfortable and that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We are located in a beautiful part of the Mournes and we are more than happy to share it with you. Hope to see you back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rustieNor...
Norn Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury Cottage in The Mournes”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a fantastic family holiday in Rourke's Cottage. It was spotlessly clean and had every thing we needed and more. Gorgeous bathroom, constant hot water and well equipped kitchen. We had our elderly father with us and the downstairs bedroom with ensuite was perfect for him. Myrtle couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, going out of her to accommodate us with the arrangements. There are fantastic walks from the door and plenty of interesting places to visit. Will be back!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet situation and overall quality of the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your great review. We were delighted to be able to accommodate your Dad. The large ground floor bedroom and en-suite is a big advantage and we are really pleased your Dad was happy and enjoyed his stay at Kribben Cottages. We enjoyed chatting to him and look forward to you all returning soon. Myrtle:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_McCau...
1 review
“Meritorious”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

These cottages were an absolute joy to stay in. The facilities in and around the cottages were well equipped, modern and very spacious. So sad that my stay is over. I would certainly think about coming back for another stupendous stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you so much Ben for your great review. It's really nice to get positive feedback from a young teenager. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope you made many happy memories. Look forward to you all coming back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.