We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Relax and enjoy the view of Slieve Binnian View of Seefin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Relax and enjoy the view of Slieve Binnian
View of Seefin
Luxury super king size bed, views of mountains
Spacious bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower
Twin bedroom with views of mountains
Lounge and dining area, patio doors to decking and picnic table
Silent Valley 5 mins, play area, duck pond, walking trails, coffee shop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caoimhe_G...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were a group of 22 friends and we rented out the 5 cottages, all of which were absolutely perfect. The location and views are just amazing, and the quality of the cottages is excellent, really comfortable & well furnished with everything you need. Perfect place to stay for groups of friends or family, convenient to Newcastle town & for climbing Slieve Donard.
A special thank you to Myrtle, I forgot my phone charger & she posted it out to me straight away - excellent service!

I highly recommend Kribben Cottages.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky I
Glenavy, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely warm welcome in a stunning secure location. Will definitely be returning and have been recommending to family and friends. Special thank you to Myrtle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart233...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rourkes at Kribben Cottages”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Close by the village of Annalong, 10 minutes by car from the small town of Newcastle, Rourkes is a 3 bed 2 storey 'cottage' with sensational views of The Mourne Mountains one of 4 dwellings, Kribben Cottages, in a quiet, rural, setting, approx 1 mile from the sparkling Irish Sea.
A must for walkers of all standards, cyclists and motorists in this beautiful part of Northern Ireland. Our cottage offered a welcome return after a busy day in the hills or in the neighbouring small towns, a log burning stove to look forward to, a comfortable lounge, kitchen and bedrooms and, in the morning, fantastic views of the Mourne mountains, whatever the weather. Restful. quiet and enchanting, we'll be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartyMcCa...
Vung Tau, Dong Nai, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best self catering cottage we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife, two sons, father and his partner stayed in Rourke's cottage for two nights as my youngest was being christened in the parish. Essentially, we wanted a place where we could celebrate with my family (all 30 of them) in a relaxing and homely environment which wasn't too far away from Newcastle. What we got was a beautiful rustic looking cottage with stunning views of the sea and the Mournes yet it was equipped mod cons i.e. wifi/t.v. and central heating (that's not to forget the fantastic woodburner that was also there!). What's-more the owner provided us with extra chairs, a baby bed, wood and scrumptious homemade shortbread.
The cottage is tastefully furnished with a massive shower and bathtub. Also, there is ample parking and a children's play within the grounds.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to explore the walks or watch Glassdrummin (300m) down the road get thrashed at Gaelic football :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelleHBe...
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Idyllic country retreat”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Met by our host with a welcome pack of homemade scones, and a roaring fire; we were a large trekking group who occupied 3 of the 5 dwellings, the cottages were perfect, warm, cosy, well kitted out with attention to every detail. Tastefully decorated with country chic the host has created a home from home,luxury bathroom, kitchen, generous living area,extensive outdoor area, parking,elevated ceilings traditional finish, a real traditional/ modern Irish country cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities,accessibility, space, hospitable host.
Liked least: Had to leave!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boopybear
1 review
“Idyllic cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Fantastic cottage with every amenity you could possibly want. Lovely log burning stove, superb kitchen, very high standard. Bedrooms were roomy & beautifully presented. Lovely bathrooms especially the deep free standing bath. Perfect after a long walk. Myrtle was very friendly & helpful. She made us very welcome. We took our two dogs who thoroughly enjoyed all the fantastic walks. Cottage was perfect for them. Would highly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnus67
Tewkesbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in the Mournes”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a location to be based at. The views from the back of the cottage are very spectacular looking straight out onto the Mournes. Activities are a little weather dependent and you definitely need the car to get to places, but there's plenty to do in the locality. The cottage is very comfortable, tastefully furnished and very peaceful. If you get a clear night sit in the garden a while and watch the stars come out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and the views.
Liked least: No hairdryer - a minor gripe
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing