We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My Dream Holiday in Ireland”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Armitage House

Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
The Hall The sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front of the house
The Hall
The sitting room
The sitting room with patio door to rear garden
The kitchen and Aga
The large yellow bedroom
The purple bedroom which has a bay window and sea views
The first floor landing
The bathroom
The shower room
The 'postcard' twin bedroom
The 'grey' twin bedroom
The wet room
The upper landing
Steps up to the garden
View toward the Slieve Donard Hotel from in front of the house
Looking back towards the house from the harbour
Ground floor
Top floor
First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carol b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Dream Holiday in Ireland”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start, found Armitage in October 2016' fell in love with the house so beautiful renovated, everything of highest standards, booked for 12 first two weeks July 2017. Such comfortable beds, three great spacious bathrooms (everything in house spacious) spent evenings in kitchen enjoying view and playing cards. Bedrooms lovely. Michael did all in his power to make our stay wonderful.
Bus stop at door and cost £17 for two adults 4 children to travel anywhere in N.I. On bus for day.
Decent walk into town centre, was very glad we didn't stay in centre, Armitage perfect location.
The back garden was maybe my favorite part, made me think secret Garden, three levels, grandchildren played ParKor ,and football, loved it.
Another lovely touch was fresh wheaten bread and soda bread, fresh milk to welcome us.

Have to mention Harbor shop on corner, grandkids were there every day, and was great when needing an ingredient. Surprised ourselves that we didn't eat out once, kitchen so great and well equipped we just enjoyed staying in.

I have already recommended to friends wanting to go to Ireland. Hopefully also we will be back, maybe by the time 10 different friends have been, I'll get free weekend

First holiday I haven't wanted to go home from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lele2808
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Home!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our Family of 9 (4 adults and 5 children) stayed here for the past two weeks on a vacation from Canada. This house, location and Micheal (the owner) far exceeded our expectation!! We will not forget this vacation! The kids fell in love with this house!! It is beautifully done with lots of room for everyone! We enjoyed swimming in the sea and hiking the Mourne Mountains! The views are amazing and the kids loved loved playing in the backyard!! A short walk to town but we couldn't wait to get back to "our" house! would definitely recommend to any and everyone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest5515...
1 review
“Gorgeous house”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a lovely weekend with 10 others in this house. It is beautifully decorated, with loads and loads of space. Perfect location also. 5*

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect! Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family booked this house for a weekend, Mike was very helpful throughout the booking process and the house is amazing! The photo's don't do the house justice, house is very spacious and finished to a very high standard. The kitchen is amazing and excellent for large families. The location is close enough to the town centre without having all the noise that comes with it! The views are spectacular! If you want the perfect get away in Newcastle you should definitely book here. We hope to see you again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_and...
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 5 bedroom holiday home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very well appointed and spacious holiday home in a great location. Close to the town, shops, pubs and restaurants. The house is very well equipped, recently renovated and made a fantastic base for our large family group. The bedrooms are large and the 3 bath/shower rooms and downstairs WC meant that nobody got in each other's way. The fresh bread and milk left for us was a nice touch. The setting, close to the waterfront, is beautiful and the views across the bay from the bedrooms are fantastic, especially in the morning as the sun rises in front of the house.

Overall, a fantastic and luxurious property in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway65...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break in Newcastle”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in August for a Friday and Saturday night with my extended family. The owner contacted me beforehand and was very welcoming and accommodating with check in times. The house itself is in a really good location, which meant we could walk to bars and restaurants easily. This was really handy as it meant we didn't need to spend money on taxis or have someone drive.

Inside the house is really nicely decorated. The furniture is modern and the beds are comfy. My family are pretty fussy about cleanliness so it was a big positive for us that the house was spotless. As well as the kitchen/dining room there is a large living room with a wood burning stove. The views from the rooms facing out from the front of the house over the water are great.

I'm sure it is not always possible but as there were no guests staying there the day we left the owner/housekeeper were also very laid back when it came to what time we checked out, which made a nice change from staying in hotels!

We would definitely stay again and hopefully will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration and furniture are really well done and the house is in a great location.
Liked least: Hard to find any flaws. A very small one is that the tv doesn't have reception but there were loads of DVDs anyway!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing