We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Derrick S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location with easy access to the seafront, shops and the Mourne mountains. The flat layout is practical and modern and our 2 young children were calling it home after the first day. We'll definitely be back :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Will look forward to it, thanks for your kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gerryd28
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booked 17 Shimna Mile for the week and was completely satisfied with every aspect of the apartment. From the modern functional kitchen, the great signal WiFi, the picture postcard view of the Mourne Mountains and even the water power of the showers in the ensuite and bathroom.
Price was very reasonable for July and the short walk through the park area to main Street was so relaxing and enjoyable. Will look forward to staying again all being well. The owner Alan was very approachable and made us feel at home on arrival.
Great holiday all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks Gerard a pleasure to have you and the family. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks Alison for your kind words. I hope we can welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eleanor O
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

So happy we chose this apartment for our weekend trip to Newcastle, even before we arrived we had great communication and info from Alan. We were met at the apartment as arranged and shown around and how everything worked, also got lots of great tips on local attractions etc.
The apartment itself was just perfect, bright and airy, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, with absolutely everything you could possibly need for your stay. It was extremely comfortable, secure, quiet and even had free wifi.
The location is also perfect, just a short walk from the Main Street and beach, what more could you ask for?
We would highly recommend this apartment and plan on returning in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thanks Eleanor for your kind words. Please comeback again when you can. Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGolembos...
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely the right choice of apartment for a holiday in Newcastle.”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a most pleasant time in Newcastle, all the more so by staying in this apartment. The accommodation was all we could hope for and more, most comfortable, superbly equipped and furnished, And only five minutes very pleasant stroll through the park to the town promenade, shops, cafes, restaurants and sea front. Highly recommended.
We hope to return for a further stay before Christmas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missbeair...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous apartment”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked Shimna Mile for my family to stay at while visiting Ireland for our wedding. It was a fantastic set up for two couples-- very spacious and well-appointed. Love the modern kitchen and baths, and my family enjoyed having a home away from home. The booking process was incredibly easy, and Alan, his brother, and neighbors could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Will look to book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks for staying with us and your kind words. We will look forward to you coming again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing