We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely gardens and staff. Food... not so good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowallane Garden

Rowallane Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and staff. Food... not so good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just want to say first the staff were informative and friendly. It's very sad to hear that people who've worked for over a decade on rose bushes and lovely plants have to watch them die in the recent frost. We visited when there was still lots of snow on the ground. We hope to go back and see it in bloom.

The food at the cafe- I cannot recommend it at all. It was a very long wait for lunch. They were not set up for lunch at 12:30pm, and a loooong queue formed.

And our sandwiches were really, well, nasty. My husband's squished ham panini was floppy and moist. Yeesh. My bread tasted stale or dry, and yet soggy. Weird.

To be fair, there was a sign on the wall saying that they were training new staff. Maybe things will get better?

I just would recommend maybe you pack a picnic lunch! But don't miss this lovely place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A well loved garden has had a make-over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rowallane gardens owned by the National Trust just outside the village of Saintfield have long been a favourite place for a peaceful stroll. However, as we were away for a large part of 2012 it is well over 6 months since we were last there. There has been a transformation. The house which used to be the HQ for the NT in Northern Ireland has now a shop and cafe in the ground floor with the offices relocated to the courtyard. The conversion has been well done. Where my reservations are focused, however, relates to the parts of the gardens which have been extensively opened up with large gravel paths. Presumably, these changes are designed to attract families pushing buggies. No doubt the rather stark paths will mellow over time but we are delaying our judgment on what has been done: we do have reservations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spring gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rowallane is a National Trust property, gardens laid out in the 19th century round a country house. The gardens are particularly rich in rhododendrons and azaleas, but specimen trees give colour and interest all year round.

The new restaurant in the house serves excellent coffee, tea and cakes, and home-produced lunches. There is a terrace which may be used whenever the weather permits.

I regularly walk my dog in Rowallane, which has a field with some woodland set aside where dogs can be exercised off the lead, a boon in these dog-intolerant days, and greatly appreciated by many local dog-owners.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephanieO34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tranqil Surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My family and I are regular visitors to the Rowallane gardens and never tire of its appeal. Beautiful walks around walled gardens , herb gardens all provide what is needed for a relaxing day out with nature all around.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAUL DUNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas Fair!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

It is part of my family tradition to visit the Christmas market ever year and we have never been disappointed

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsetwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowallane Garden also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Saintfield, County Down

Been to Rowallane Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing