We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Very Welcoming”
Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfoot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A lovely place to stop, a little too far from town. Kids loved the bling, and the swing chair. Staff very courteous and helpful (receptionist promised that she had gone home, but she always seemed to be there!) Functional room, and a very good breakfast. Over all good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

First impressions are what a lovely hotel, the reception and dining area are lovely, the staff very friendly and the food was excellent. Very disappointing was our bedroom which although clean and tidy was dated, with a 'Double' bed dressed in poor quality bedding especially the duvet :-( we asked to upgrade to a better room however the hotel was fully booked and this wasn't possible, unfortunately we won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsM201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the end of June while enjoying the Feile in Co Derry. Location beside Foyle Bridge, room, customer service and meal in the restaurant were all excellent. Will definitely stay again when visiting Derry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here on a sat night at the start of August. Room v dissapointing, when putting twin beds together noticed a lot of fluff and sweet wrappers. There was a wedding on the same night and music was on till! Guy singing could have been in bedroom with us! Next morning reception asked if everthing ok and I mentioned that the music was loud. I was told to read the small print!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emero14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked a function room for a post-funeral family buffet meal. Cannot understand how a hotel of this size was unable to provide a few extra chairs for the small number of extra guests who had turned up (all chairs were 'being used for the sunday carvery' apparently, so that might explain how customers are prioritised...) - food was late, of very average quality, staff presence was minimal. Bar service was very limited eg an elderly guest asked for a hot whiskey, to be told that this was 'impossible as it would be cold by the time it arrived from the main bar'..the main bar was literally 10 ft away however. Would definitely not recommend this venue for such a function.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have to say I had a fantastic stay at the Waterfoot Hotel in Derry, after a long day at work and a late check in I had an evening meal in the winebar and found the staff to be very knowledgeable and helpful, I was welcomed right away and the team could not have done enough for me! The food was outstanding, it could not be faulted and breakfast the next morning was terrific, again the staff were very friendly and attended to my every need. I will certainly be back and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a wonderful stay and well done to the exceptional staff!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyloucoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed Waterfoot Hotel overnight recently.The service was good,the service persons polite and efficient on that very busy evening.
The food was good by and large however an issue arose regarding the Caesar Salad which was neither good nor original,a few lettuce leaves,shavings of shallots,croutons and dressing.
The attitude of the chef that evening was take it or leave it.Caesar Cardini would have been horrified his creation was so ill used.
Overall stay was pleasant and suied my needs.Their biggest asset the young personable staff .

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank marymullingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Address: 14 Clooney Road | 14 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is perfectly located under 3 miles from the City Centre and only 6 miles from Derry City Airport. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the fabulous peace bridge allows easy access to the heart of Derry City. Ample free parking with free taxi transfer to city centre offered to all hotel guests. The stylish and elegantly presented hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant and wine bar as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing