We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" HOME "”
Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfoot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend of 25/10/13 to 28/10/13 and found all to very good - reception
Restraunte and hotel in general all very good, room bright, clean and warm - did feel that TV in
Room too small for the size of the room and could not been seen clearly from the bed, food at
Hotel very, very good all in all a excellent stay at a very good hotel and will be returning

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

we have stayed in this hotel on a few occassions now and cannot fault it. The staff are so helpful nothing seems too much trouble and are always cheerfull. The rooms are lovely and spacious well kept. The waterfoot is in an ideal position to see the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loulou6521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Me and my partner were staying in this hotel for one night with a voucher we were given. Will never be back!!! My partner rang a few days before to book the room for the saturday night. We had to take a twin room which was fine, we understood because of the lateness the booking. But once we arrived at the hotel they asked for a security deposit that we were not advised off when my partner booked the room-£80!!! I understand that we would get this back but a little acknowledgement would have helped. We took are bags up to the room. Boy did we underestimate the room. Before we walked into this lovely modern well presented reception with rich colours, when we got to the room, i felt like i walked into a bed and breakfast house. Everything was dated!! Carpet, wardrobe and bathroom. The only sign of modern was the paintings and magazines. Bathroom was lacking and a horrible bath mat in the shower/bath, the toilet handle was nearly falling off the cistern and dated furnishings. When sitting on tge bed, it was obvious that the mattresses were done because they were bowing in the middle. Unacceptable! Website shows lovely clean rooms but what we got was not good. I am just thankful i did not pay for this room, otherwise i would be asking for my money back and would book myself into a bed and breakfast that would be of same class!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

my boyfriend and I had a great nites stay in this hotel for the walled city tattoo - the room was lovely - it was large and airy and had a table and chairs to relax in and the staff were alway on hand if you needed anything and we would stay here again - would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel is just off a main roundabout leading into the city, but we weren't kept awake by the traffic as there was a party at the hotel! There were swinging doors somewhere and every few minutes they were opening and closing the doors making a banging noise to compete with the dreadful music.

The rooms are nothing like the trendy reception/bar/restaurant, as they are dated and tired. Bring your own hairdryer as the old style 70's one that is stuck to the wall overheats and turns itself off.

The staff were friendly and tried to accommodate us with another room, but it was noisier then the room we were in.

We decided to check out the following day and to our pleasant surprise they did not charge up for our room. Apparently the party had got out of hand, police called and they advised us that this was the first time something like this had ever happened! Lets hope it does not happen again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Staff were fab especially breakfast staff well done guys keep it up and thank you we were made to feel very welcome never been to a friendlier place rooms are clean but watch out for steam from shower settin off fire alarm

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for one night whilst in the area on business.
Pleaseant receptionist / check in. Room large and clean. Small tv but plenty of channels. Free wi-fi with good speed.
Bed hard and couple of the pillows lumpy. However had a great sleep as no noise from the next room etc.
Food was expensive and a £5 tray charge but tasted good. Arrived in good time etc.
Bathroom did smell damp but was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Address: 14 Clooney Road | 14 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is perfectly located under 3 miles from the City Centre and only 6 miles from Derry City Airport. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the fabulous peace bridge allows easy access to the heart of Derry City. Ample free parking with free taxi transfer to city centre offered to all hotel guests. The stylish and elegantly presented hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant and wine bar as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing