We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt more like being a guest in a friend's home.”
Review of Phoenix B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix B&B
Ranked #17 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt more like being a guest in a friend's home.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were lucky enough to book a room on the weekend Radio 1's Big Weekend was in town. We checked in early on Sunday morning and were greeted with coffee and toast despite the fact we only had breakfast booked for the next morning. We went away to the festival and returned late to a comfortable and well turned out room. After a lovely shower in a very clean bathroom we enjoyed a delicious full Irish Breakfast. The owners were so friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you. I would recommend a stay here to anyone - friends, couples or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobTelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    32
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
62
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larne, Co Antrim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Myself and fiancé stayed here for one night on the 24th May 2013 and I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by one of the owners who was so friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small but they are very comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the city centre which is perfect and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby which the owners very kindly recommended. Breakfast was a great wee fry-up (perfect hangover cure) and very tasty. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everybody if you are looking for a nice, comfortable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineemmett28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Nice clean room in a good location. The room was small but it was very clean. We were on the third floor but Pat (the owner) carried our luggage up stairs for us. The most exceptional part of this experience was how genuinely nice the owners were. Would absolutely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have just arrived back from a 3 day break in Derry, and found this place to be very friendly, very clean and the breakfasts were lovely.Run by a lovely friendly couple Belinda and Pat. Rooms quite small, buts its all you need as your never in the rooms long enough. Very central, just a short walk to the shopping centre and the many bars. highly recommended.. Carmel and Andrew

Room Tip: We had a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calmor555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The B&B is very well located just outside the Derry walls. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the walls. The building is tall and narrow. Our room was on the top floor but there was no problem at all with Pat, the owner, offering and then assisting with our luggage. There are good eating places about 2 minutes inside the walls and a supermarket right next door with some takeaway places also. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was ample hot water for the shower. Breakfast was cereal, juice and a hot cooked course. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Car parking is in the street directly in front of the b&B.

Our room was very small for 2 people. One side of the double bed was just about 15-20cm from the wall so it meant that one of us had to clamber over the other to get in/out of the bed. The bathroom, while functional, was very small. If you were on a budget then this B&B would be a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A great little spot to stay whilst in Derry. Near to the city walls, and a quick walk to a great dinner location that would suit all tastes (recommended by the host). Pat was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious and the free internet worked well. Thanks Pat! Sam & Tania.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Opted for the standard double without ensuite bathroom. The room was very small (one side of the bed touched the wall), but was large enough for the two of us. We simply moved the bed out a bit. The bathroom next to the room was large and had a good shower.

The hosts were very friendly and gave great suggestions for food and sightseeing in the town. Standard but filling breakfast. The location can't be beat, just outside the city wall and a short walk from the bus station, but watch the steep hill to the center of town if you're dragging your luggage. If you take the wall path, it's less steep.

The B&B doesn't take credit cards, so bring cash or use the ATM in the center of town.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get the ensuite double. You'll appreciate the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix B&B

Property: Phoenix B&B
Address: Without 138 Bishop Street, Derry BT48 6UQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to discover this beautiful city on foot, Phoenix B&B is just a few minutes from the historical walled city centre. Accommodation is of a high standard in modern comfortable surroundings. Guests have a choice of a cooked Irish breakfast or a continental breakfast. A warm welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing