We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not expensive”
Review of Flaming Jacks - CLOSED

Flaming Jacks
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We aim to achieve and maintain such distinction in food and wine, service, atmosphere and setting that the restaurant gains a first class reputation for great food, gracious and informed hospitality, comfort and beauty which draws new and repeat customers year after year
Cremona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and not expensive”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two nights in Derry and we went to Flamig Jacks twice. The food is very good and abundant (with just one curse you'll be served for the night), and the price is fair (about 20 euros each with also a dessert and a beer). We even tried the pasta and it was pretty decent (so for non-italian people it's a damn good pasta!). The service is excellent, they never let you wait for a long time.
We didn't understood the interior design at all, it looks more like a chinese or an indian restaurant, but honestly who cares

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudio_1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    96
    23
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lively spot for dinner”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I think this restaurant has been taken over since our guidebook was published, which told us we'd have to book in advance to get a table! We chanced our luck and found tables available, so stayed for a pleasant dinner. The menu is quite varied (although not haute cuisine by any stretch of the imagination!) and reasonably priced, and the staff were all helpful and attentive. If you're looking for a lively place for a 'cheap and cheerful' dinner although still maintaining good quality food, Flaming Jacks ticks the boxes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Indian, not Indian bog style”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very good quality food, but do watch out for wine if ordering by the glass. Mine was definetly off, I suspected he knew this but replaced it no problem

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Z z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
464 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a great place to have a meal. It’s not the first time we’ve eaten here, but it is the first time we have done a review of it. It’s a cheery place, clean, and the staff are very friendly. There’s not a huge amount of space between the tables we would imagine it could be very cramped if the place was full. However, that didn’t take from our meal. There’s lots of choice on the menu and the service was good, even though it did slow down a bit as the night wore on. Our waitress was absolutely charming and very good humoured – it makes such a change and added so much to a lovely evening. Our meals were delicious and we pushed the boat out and had dessert too. We got excellent value for money, which included a bottle of wine and we would heartily recommend Flaming Jacks to anybody visiting Derry city. Just one word of warning, it can get extremely noisy in the disco bar next door, but we enjoyed listening to the choice of music, which was far enough away from us not to ruin our evening! We dined on a Friday night so we don’t know whether this is just a Friday night thing with the disco.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
574 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“My #1 Fav”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I took a 2 week driving tour of the island in early/mid June. We started in Dublin and wound up back in Dublin. We ate in a lot of places along the way. Flaming Jacks turned out to be my favorite of the entire trip. The staff was very helpful and attentive and the food was terrific! Not much more I can say.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tupelo010835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flaming Jacks also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing