We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location and Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Amore two nights. It is such a convenient location. We had the downstairs room, which was clean, spacious and quiet. There is a walk-in closet between the bedroom and bathroom. The wi-fi connection is very fast. Joan and Barry are warm hosts who provide a hearty breakfast. It was interesting hearing of their experiences growing up in a time of great conflict. Barry drove us to the bus station when it was time to leave.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank martaz409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

stayed here on our tour of Northern Ireland. We chose this B&B because of its closeness to the city walls, it was only five minutes walk into the city.
We were greeted by the owners, shown to our room, and then given a good run down of places to eat, drink, and things to see and do.
The room was comfy enough, and it was just as though we were staying with friends, in their house.
Breakfast next morning was good standard and filling

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed there for three nights in June 2012 my sister, her husband and I. The room was roomy, comfortable and very clean. Joan and Barry were very nice and helpful (Joan gave us a map of the city and told us of good restaurants, pubs, and shopping centers around the area). It's right next to the murals and a few minutes away from the bus station and the medieval walls. We were exhausted from spending 7 hours on buses and Joan was nice enough to pick us up at the bus station. We also were in need of clean clothes and she helped us out by finding a place that would wash, dry and fold them for a reasonable price on a Saturday. The only problem we had was that two of the people staying there were very noisy and invited friends over to the B&B at three in the morning, so we slept poorly one of the three nights, but we told Joan and she set things right with the other guests. Breakfast was good as well. Thanks so much for all the help!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeliniL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Amore recently for a couple of nights and it felt like staying a friend's house than at a stranger's. Joan and Barry were very nice and welcoming us to Derry. They gave us information about the town when we got there and helped us with questions. Breakfast here was the best part though, we ordered from the menu which included irish breakfast to pancakes and more and they made it in the kitchen right away. The rooms were clean. It was a small place with probably 3 rooms to rent but that's how they made it personal and welcoming to us. And it was very close to city center.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minh-N-Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My daughter made all the arrangements for our mother/daughter trip to Ireland in April, 2012. We stayed in many different bed and breakfasts. We arrived at Amore in the afternoon and were welcomed by Barry and other guests. It is a small bed and breakfast, but very clean and comfortable. It is in a residential area.There was even a computer for our use in the foyer area. The breakfast was Irish breakfast was cooked to order and was ample and delicious. There were light snacks and teapot in the living room/dining room area for sampling during the day. We were near the Free Derry Museum which was the main purpose of our visit to Derry. We weren't far from the city center (5-10 min. walk ?) and we felt welcomed and safe. (If you have a lot of luggage, take a cab. Don't try to walk up and down the cobblestone streets with a heavy suitcase!!) I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

ideally located 2 minutes from city walls joan & barry were very helful on the local knowledge places to eat sites to see and directions to get there all in all value for money food was great rooms were clean

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

LOCATION
The location of Amore B&B is the only questionable feature. In (London)Derry downtown, 450 metres away from the City Walls (<6 minutes on foot), but located in Bogside, a former conflict area and still a depressed middle class worker neighbourhood where you do not know if you're completely safe or not (although yes, you are!). The B&B is next to the main sights of the Bogside murals.

PARKING
You can park on a side street in the back of the hotel, freely and safely, and it is very easy to find parking spaces at any time.

ROOM
Amore has only 3 rooms, all with private bath. We booked a double room with a double bed. Extremely clean. Comfortable. Free wifi. No frills. No noise.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast is not buffet style but a la carte and you set the previous evening at what time you want it. It is complete and delicious, with different hot food options from cooked to order menu (full Irish breakfast and others). Besides, they cater for special dietary requirements upon request and you can find tea/ coffee facilities and breakfast cereals at any time of the day.

ATTENTION
Amore is managed by the owners, who are very friendly and give you useful sightseeing and dining tips.

OVERALL
Good value for money. Very nice attention by the owners. So-so location but central. I would definitely stay again but I would not recommend it for older or apprehensive people who would prefer to stay inside the walled city (at a price).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaquin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 Columbcille Court | Abbey Street, Derry BT48 9DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amore Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amore Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the city center, only 2 minute walk to the historic Derry Walls, museums, theater, cinema, restaurants and pubs. During your visit to this historic city you can enjoy the craic and the culture, walk the walls and visit the many attractions it has to offer. It is an ideal base from which you can explore the Inishowen peninsula, Donegal and the Giants Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amore Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing