We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amore Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic bed and breakfast in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, and I can't give this b&b enough praise. From the moment we drove up to the moment we left, we felt welcomed and right at home. Joan and Barry were excellent hosts and provided us with clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable accommodation. The location is ideal and the price can't be beat for all that you're getting. This is by far the best b&b i've every stayed in and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skeezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
92
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Amore two nights. It is such a convenient location. We had the downstairs room, which was clean, spacious and quiet. There is a walk-in closet between the bedroom and bathroom. The wi-fi connection is very fast. Joan and Barry are warm hosts who provide a hearty breakfast. It was interesting hearing of their experiences growing up in a time of great conflict. Barry drove us to the bus station when it was time to leave.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martaz409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

stayed here on our tour of Northern Ireland. We chose this B&B because of its closeness to the city walls, it was only five minutes walk into the city.
We were greeted by the owners, shown to our room, and then given a good run down of places to eat, drink, and things to see and do.
The room was comfy enough, and it was just as though we were staying with friends, in their house.
Breakfast next morning was good standard and filling

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed there for three nights in June 2012 my sister, her husband and I. The room was roomy, comfortable and very clean. Joan and Barry were very nice and helpful (Joan gave us a map of the city and told us of good restaurants, pubs, and shopping centers around the area). It's right next to the murals and a few minutes away from the bus station and the medieval walls. We were exhausted from spending 7 hours on buses and Joan was nice enough to pick us up at the bus station. We also were in need of clean clothes and she helped us out by finding a place that would wash, dry and fold them for a reasonable price on a Saturday. The only problem we had was that two of the people staying there were very noisy and invited friends over to the B&B at three in the morning, so we slept poorly one of the three nights, but we told Joan and she set things right with the other guests. Breakfast was good as well. Thanks so much for all the help!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliniL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Amore recently for a couple of nights and it felt like staying a friend's house than at a stranger's. Joan and Barry were very nice and welcoming us to Derry. They gave us information about the town when we got there and helped us with questions. Breakfast here was the best part though, we ordered from the menu which included irish breakfast to pancakes and more and they made it in the kitchen right away. The rooms were clean. It was a small place with probably 3 rooms to rent but that's how they made it personal and welcoming to us. And it was very close to city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minh-N-Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My daughter made all the arrangements for our mother/daughter trip to Ireland in April, 2012. We stayed in many different bed and breakfasts. We arrived at Amore in the afternoon and were welcomed by Barry and other guests. It is a small bed and breakfast, but very clean and comfortable. It is in a residential area.There was even a computer for our use in the foyer area. The breakfast was Irish breakfast was cooked to order and was ample and delicious. There were light snacks and teapot in the living room/dining room area for sampling during the day. We were near the Free Derry Museum which was the main purpose of our visit to Derry. We weren't far from the city center (5-10 min. walk ?) and we felt welcomed and safe. (If you have a lot of luggage, take a cab. Don't try to walk up and down the cobblestone streets with a heavy suitcase!!) I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

ideally located 2 minutes from city walls joan & barry were very helful on the local knowledge places to eat sites to see and directions to get there all in all value for money food was great rooms were clean

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 Columbcille Court | Abbey Street, Derry BT48 9DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amore Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amore Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the city center, only 2 minute walk to the historic Derry Walls, museums, theater, cinema, restaurants and pubs. During your visit to this historic city you can enjoy the craic and the culture, walk the walls and visit the many attractions it has to offer. It is an ideal base from which you can explore the Inishowen peninsula, Donegal and the Giants Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amore Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing