We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very pleasant, clean room on ground floor, and a lovely welcome from the owners of this B&B.
Excellent breakfast, cooked to order.
And just a few minutes away from the center of town.
We usually stay in four star hotels, but this was truly delightful!
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
97
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent location just 10 min from city centre.
Standard price, although it was a festival weekend.
Cosy breakfast room and very nice food.
Comfortable room with clean bathroom.
Very friendly staff. We messed up with payment, but Joan got is sorted promptly, without any additional hassle or fees.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrebsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed 1 night in the lovely Amore Bed&Breakfast. The B&B is run by the lovely Joan who could not have been more helpful or friendly. She runs a fantastic, comfortable establishment. The rooms are cosy and clean. The breakfast was top notch and the centre of town is a few minutes walk. The murals are close by as is St Eugene's Cathedral. We will be back to stay hopefully over the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Excellent location (close to the murals, pubs, shops, walls...), brilliant hosts (thank you Joan and Barry), wonderful breakfast which set me for the day every morning, very nice room. I will be back next year for the City of culture.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchMurielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at this B&B and we loved it! The location is perfect for doing the Free Derry tour and visiting the city centre, which was just a five-minute walk away. The owners, Barry and Joan, were so friendly, genuinely interested and welcoming that we felt very much at home in their B&B. And we loved the breakfast as well. Freshly cooked pancakes, eggs and Irish potato bread were delicious. The owner even helped us book a sightseeing tour, which was much appreciated. The room we had (no. 1) was very large, with a double and a single bed. The double bed was far more comfortable than the single bed though, might need a new mattress. Sometimes we also had some trouble getting hot water from the shower, but all in all we had a great time and would definitely return if we were ever to visit Derry again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Amore B&B for three nights and had a lovely stay. Barry, Joan and Joy (Joan's sister) were very warm and friendly. We arrived in Derry by bus and it was an easy walk from the bus station to the B&B. Upon arrival Barry gave us some very helpful information and even assisted us in booking a tour for the next day, which was very kind. We were given the room downstairs which was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent. The B&B is located in the Bogside, a residential area and we didn't feel at all unsafe when we walked back at night. The Free Derry corner and Free Derry Museum are practically around the corner. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed in the Amore bed and breakfast based on the reviews posted on trip advisor. Was disappointed. While the owners were very welcoming my concerns rest with the building and location.

The location is certainly not charming by any stretch of the imagination being in the middle if a housing estate that has seen little investment in decades. While central it is not an area I felt comfortable walking around after dark. The area itself I found to be quite noisy with traffic and fireworks as it was coming up to Halloween. Also the owners do not live on-site as in a traditional B&B which meant there was not much feeling of being in someone's home.

The B&B has no real facilities such as a sitting room. It is just the three bedrooms, kitchen and breakfast area. There is a sofa in the breakfast area which was compact to begin with into which the front door opens directly. This is where tea and coffee can be made if needed, not in the bedrooms. Breakfast was fine and generous being served between 8 and 10.

The TV in the room was very small and had dreadful reception because of something to do with the arial I was told. Only a few stations were available. There was good wireless Internet however. Sockets were scarce and I had to use an industrial extension lead I found under the bed for my phone charger.

The room and bathroom were sufficiently clean but it was clear there had been a leak at some stage and the staining on the ceiling / wall by the door could still be made out. I stayed for two nights and the room was not tended to in any way after the first night which was surprising. 

Really cannot see why there are SO many five star reviews. Not that much cheaper than some of the hotel deals and I think better value can be found elsewhere. Was ok for what I needed but it would not be my first choice on a return trip. 

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 Columbcille Court | Abbey Street, Derry BT48 9DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amore Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amore Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the city center, only 2 minute walk to the historic Derry Walls, museums, theater, cinema, restaurants and pubs. During your visit to this historic city you can enjoy the craic and the culture, walk the walls and visit the many attractions it has to offer. It is an ideal base from which you can explore the Inishowen peninsula, Donegal and the Giants Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amore Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing