We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a trip to Derry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a trip to Derry”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed here for a night after a short trip along the Antrim Coast. It was in a perfect location for exploring the City of Derry, and finding out about all the history of the city - it is right in the famous Bogside area and it only took a couple of minutes to walk to the walls, and the famous murals and Free Derry monument were just around the corner. We had a very big room on the ground floor, with masses of space. The owners could not have been more helpful, telling us all about the Troubles in Derry, showing us pictures of the city as it used to be and the changes that have happened to the city. Breakfast was excellent, and there was tea and coffee and biscuits to help yourself to at other times.
The owners also recommended places for us to visit in the evening, and Peadar O'Donnells as a place not to be missed - excellent Guiness and wonderful live Irish music from 4 fantastic musicians

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
94
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

joan & barry are so freindly and b&b so near city centre & the best breakfast we ever had anyone stayed here & dont say breakfast was the best i want to know were they got better first class

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom19670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW, Neuss
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Central to the oldtown, maybe 300 yards to "Dairy-City" and the sights. Clean and quiet rooms for good sleeping and an exelent service. Barry is a nice guy and his wife made a verry delicious breakfast.
By foot you can reach all you need.....restaurants, bars and beautyful shops....

Thanks for all

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Just back from Amore, very friendly welcome, clean spacious room, excellent breakfast, highly recommeded!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2009

came home for a wedding and needed a place to stay - found a gem - right in the heart of the city (handy for the stag night) - had a great nights sleep in a very nice clean room and was served just what I needed next morning, a great breakfast - full Irish - the hosts were friendly and great crack - can't wait for another excuse to get back to Derry for another great stay at Amore - Thanks Barry and Joan, hope to be back soon

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2009

if you are looking for somewhere where you can relax from the moment you walk through the door then this place is for you.joan and barry who own the amore great and treat you like part of their family nothing is ever too much trouble and the facilities including the free wi-fi are excellent from spacious bedrooms with en suite to the wonderfull breakfast that will set you up for the day.The only bad thing about the amore is having to leave it you will then be asking how soon can i return.Richard and Stephanie Hawkins.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkins652001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We found a double en-suite room at the Amore B&B through the local Tourist Information Centre for 56GBP/night. The room was comfortably and modernly appointed with both a double and twin bed. The owners have done a good job maintaining the interior appearance. The provided PC for guest use was a nice bonus and free wifi was fast and very easy to use.

The host's provided Irish breakfast was the most nicely presented we've had yet and we loved the pancakes. Yummm... After experiences with some of the more intrusive B&Bs lately, we were happy to be left to our own devices for most of the afternoon and evening.

The neighborhood is undergoing revitalization but still shows signs of The Troubles and Bloody Sunday that made such an indelible impression on us. I would definitely recommend visiting the nearby Museum of Free Derry and mural walks very nearby to learn more about the area.

The host was very friendly and I would definitely recommend Amore B&B for any time spent in Derry – it's a great respite and near enough to the bus and rail stations to be quite handy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharityK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#6 of 42 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 Columbcille Court | Abbey Street, Derry BT48 9DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amore Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amore Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the city center, only 2 minute walk to the historic Derry Walls, museums, theater, cinema, restaurants and pubs. During your visit to this historic city you can enjoy the craic and the culture, walk the walls and visit the many attractions it has to offer. It is an ideal base from which you can explore the Inishowen peninsula, Donegal and the Giants Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amore Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amore Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing