We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hosts ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gilwern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendliest hosts ever!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were attending a wedding near Derry and needed a place to stay for a few nights. Fortunately, we hit upon this wonderful B & B. The host and his family were very friendly, offering us coffee in the small lounge when we arrived and asking about our visit in general. When they knew where we were going they printed off maps for us, and when we said we had a couple of days free, they also recommended various days out which turned out to be spot on! The breakfast was wonderful - a selection of cereals/cakes/fruit/yoghurt followed by a freshly cooked Irish breakfast and as much tea/coffee/toast as you wanted.

As to the room, it was fine - somewhat compact but adequate for just a few days' stay. The only downside was there was no kettle/tea/coffee making facilities in the room. As I say, we were offered coffee when we arrived on our first day but it would have been nice to have coffee in our room at the end of a day out, or as soon as we were awake before going down for breakfast. I am sure if we had asked, our hosts would have made us some coffee but they weren't always about when we came back from our various trips out and we did not feel we could knock on their private quarters late at night to ask if they would mind making us some.

We were in the front bedroom and on the Saturday night there was a lot of noise of late night revellers into the early hours. We hadn't realised that when the room had been refreshed during the day whilst we were out, they had opened the window which allowed so much of the noise to disturb us. When we discovered this, we closed the window next night and it was much quieter.

There was parking on the property but this seemed to be on a first come first served basis although there was plenty of parking just around the corner so this wasn't a problem.

All in all, this was a delightful place to stay although I would recommend you to take a travel kettle to make it perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyflower58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg_777, Owner at Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Thanks for you kind review. Thomas RPH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    84
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
103
223
75
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The host and hostess were very helpful from the time of our arrival from help with parking our car to carrying our luggage up. The rooms were very clean and had a nice shower. The host personally drove us into town so we could eat dinner. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic! So very nice and the house and rooms were wonderfully decorated with charm. I would most certainly stay here again on our next trip to Derry!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizconduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg_777, Owner at Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks for your kind review, much appreciated, Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Mary was an excellent host who was accommodating to all our requests. She gave us some great advice about going downtown and travelling in Inishowen Peninsula . The B&B is close enough to the walled city and the murals to walk around. Bit of a walk uphill to get back to the B&B but easier to leave the car and walk than try to park downtown . Bed was comfortable and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The highlight of our stay was our 2 hour conversation with Thomas about the history of Ireland and his own personal experiences growing up during the Troubles. He certainly changed our media influenced opinion of the causes of the conflict. Would stay again if back in Derry and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1208BrianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg_777, Owner at Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Brian. Thanks for taking time to write this review.
The sentiments are mutual in that I really enjoyed our conversation. I am intrigued by this place and its diverse history and this time of change we are living through it brings into reality the line from the Phil Coulter song "The town I Loved so well" "On tomorrow and peace once again
For what's done is done and what's won is won, And what's lost is lost and gone for ever
I can only pray for a bright, brand new day". That bright brand new day has arrived and we are happy to share with all who come to visit. Until your next visit. Kind regards Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the rose park b&b a few weeks ago. It was our first experience in a b&b and we were happy to have chosen this place as a starter. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, very warm and nice. The house is kept in a superb tidyness and is beautifully maintained. The staff even helped us with our laundry, with our intineraries and gave us a few precious tips on our way to get around Ireland. The food was great and the portions are very generous. We would go back anytime and we recommend it !!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg_777, Owner at Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Sandy. Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are so happy that we have added to holiday in some small way. Until the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hosts at the B&B were very friendly and accommodating. The B&B Ireland website is not set up for obvious booking of a 'twin' room, so when my mom and I turned up we had a double bed to share. The hosts were more than happy to find us another room.

The room was lovely, spacious and well presented. Facilities were good.

Breakfast was a real treat. Although the full cooked breakfast wasn't tried, the atmosphere and genuine interest in our trip from the hosts led to a wonderful start to the day.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EejitLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryg_777, Owner at Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for your review. Where possible we will always try to accommodate our guests requests, we hope the rest of your holiday was relaxing and sunny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. Our hostess was most welcoming and professional and the room was more than satisfactory in every way. Really comfy bed, great shower and a good sized room and fantastic super fast Wi-Fi. Our continental breakfast was wonderful (we were given the choice of either continental or fried) and I couldn't recommend Rose Park House highly enough. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fantastic stay, fabulous friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful. Made you feel part of the family. Room was great, everything you could wish for and very clean with an extremely comfy bed (particularly important to me as i have a bad back). Breakfast was delicious too. Easy to find and with secure parking made our stay very relaxing. Great value all round! Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Rosemount Avenue, Derry BT48 0HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, Home from Home experience offering high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry suitable for travellers on all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Park House Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing