We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Meal at the Belfray Country Inn Londonderry”

The Belfray Country Inn Bistro
Ranked #14 of 187 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Grill, Irish, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the country hotel dining experience in the relaxing comfort of our informal bistro. Whether you want a light lunch, a midday carvery or a fabulous evening meal our bistro is perfect. Our popular carvery is served daily until 3:30pm but the bistro remains open with an extensive menu catering for all tastes. Why not sample our extensive wine list to compliment your meal. Just a short distance from the city centre we offer you perfect convenience, beautiful surroundings, great food and a service that is affordable and high quality. We are more than a hotel, The Belfray Country Inn has a reputation for its fine food and great atmosphere.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Meal at the Belfray Country Inn Londonderry”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took my Mother out for a meal to The Belfray Country Inn for Mother's Day on 30th March 2014.We were seated in the Ballroom which looked lovely.The food was excellent as usual with lots of choice and all the courses were served at the Table. Our Waiter John was very pleasant and helpful.All the Mothers received a lovely primrose to take home which was a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coco14186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear coco14186482
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience in our Ballroom on Mothers Day. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed our food offering and the service received from John. I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    53
    20
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic food , excellent service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Belfray for a few meals now and have never been disappointed. Today we celebrated Mother's Day an obviously very busy time . The restaurant was full and despite the busy day they service was excellent . Everyone enjoyed their three course meal...the food could not be faulted. highly recommended for traditional food and a friendly atmosphere . You could not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear pinkythecat
Thank you for your wonderful title which is what we strive for. Mothers day was exceptionally busy day for us and it's pleasing to her that we have kept up our standards in both food quality and service. I will let the team know about your kind comments.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder was excellent but it's just not about food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Service was a tad lacklustre considering amount of staff on duty. Mind you there was a big wedding on that did not interfere with the bistro. Wedding wing somewhat bling but better than last visit sometime ago. Someway to go yet.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnalbanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Carnalbanagh
Thank you for taking the time to review our Bistro. Firstly i am glad that you enjoyed our seafood chowder. Our food and beverage staff are professional in there service and in your review you state that whilst there was a wedding on it did not interfere with service in the Bistro, so i don't understand how service was lacklustre. Our Ballroom which caters for weddings is furnished to a high standard which all our brides and groom like and this is reflected in the number of wedding we do each year. I am some what confused by your comment on someway to go yet as you have not given specific's suffice to say that we will continue to invest in our Ballroom to ensure we offer the best surrounding possible for all brides and grooms on there special day.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We visited here on the 9th of March, there was 17 of us for Sunday lunch, the food was lovely with starters, roast dinner and pudding. However my problem was with the staff, the women waitress was extremely rude, she treated the table like a miserable school mistress saying "who ordered the cheesecake, well someone swear word did", with 17 people paying a lot of money to eat here, I would expect better service. The food was good but I would not attend for a large event again.

Helpful?
3 Thank amylou686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Amylou686
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your dining experience with us. Customer service is paramount to us as you can read from previous reviews, that's why I am concerned with your comments on what was said to your party. All of our staff wear name badges and it's a pity that you did not raise your concerns on the day, however I would like to investigate this further and ask that you contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss. On a positive note I am glad that you all enjoyed the food served on the day.
Look forward to hearing from you.
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungiven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family meal”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a family meal for our daughter's Confirmation in the Belfray yesterday. There were twenty people in our party and everyone agreed that not only was their meal excellent, but the level of attention and customer care exhibited by Geraldine and her staff was of the highest order. The chef must be complimented on the way the food was prepared and served. There were several other groups eating at the same time, so the staff were certainly very busy, yet they still had time to enquire if everything was satisfactory and nothing was too much trouble. We would eat here on a regular basis and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyT0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear CathyT0705
I am glad to hear that you are a regular at the Belfray Country Inn and that you choose us to have your daughters confirmation meal with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to our Head Chef and his team and also to Geraldine and her team. Customer service along with good food is important to us no matter how big the party size is and nice to hear that my team looked after you all well.
Will look forward to welcoming you back to the Belfray Country Inn
With best regards
Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belfray Country Inn Bistro also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Belfray Country Inn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing