We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

The Belfray Country Inn Bistro
Ranked #19 of 191 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the country hotel dining experience in the relaxing comfort of our informal bistro. Whether you want a light lunch, a midday carvery or a fabulous evening meal our bistro is perfect. Our popular carvery is served daily until 3:30pm but the bistro remains open with an extensive menu catering for all tastes. Why not sample our extensive wine list to compliment your meal. Just a short distance from the city centre we offer you perfect convenience, beautiful surroundings, great food and a service that is affordable and high quality. We are more than a hotel, The Belfray Country Inn has a reputation for its fine food and great atmosphere.
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked into reception the welcome I received was the start of this brilliant experience.
Once seated everything was like clockwork. These members of staff are obviously trained very well.
The menu is vast, which for me can be a little disconcerting, however I was not too worry. The table had a variety of starters and mains which everybody enjoyed immensely.
I loved the touch of the white gloves used to serve food.
This owners here have everything sorted. It is spotless and the toilets were one of the cleanest I have ever seen.
I cannot wait to return here. Well done. A lot of places could learn from you.

1  Thank Cherryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Cherryville
Thank you for your kind comments and glad to hear that you enjoyed your brilliant experience with us. All of our team are passionate about good customer service and enjoy delivering the Belfray Experience to all of our guests. Cleanliness is also key for us as first impression last. I will pass on your kind comments to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for The Belfray Country Inn Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 315 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked sunday carvery lunch in the ballroom. Welcomed and shown to our table by Geraldine ,her lovely friendly and professional manner gave the immediate impression that this was a well run restaurant. Real live background music was provided by a male singer ,which was a really lovely touch and made it a little bit special. Staff call button placed on table was an excellent idea though I do not imagine you would ever need to use it as staff were very attentive. Our orders were no sooner taken than the starters and drinks arrived at our table. Great food,great choice and lovely presentation. A special mention must go to Marty who we overheard encouraging a young boy to eat his lunch and promised a little treat if he did , a personal touch by him as he had noticed the boy kept leaving the table and this allowed his dad to finish his meal. As the queue for the carvery became busier he immediately came up ensuring things kept moving in an orderly fashion.We also observed him offering to assist an elderly couple by carrying down their meals . Really impressed by the homely ,caring, and yet very professional staff.First visit and certainly will be returning and will be recommending this restaurant to friends.Thank you for a lovely relaxing sunday lunch with such wonderful staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Strabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Strabane
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent dining experience on Sunday in our Ballroom. Reading your review it is nice to see that we have delivered in all areas from your arrival to food to entertainment and to service. Our staff are our greatest asset, they genuinely and passionately care about delivering a personal service ensuring that all our customers receive The Belfray Experience.
Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned after having the Sunday carvery at the Belfray Country Inn, and I must say that it was a fantastic experience. We were made feel so welcome and our every need was catered for promptly by Marty who waited at our table. We had two very young children with us and Marty was so kind and generous to them. Our thanks also to John and Erin for their excellent service. Overall a lovely experience and great value for money. We will most certainly be back. Thank you very much.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Claire M
It is pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Sunday carvery and thank you for your kind comments on you experience and the welcome you all received. Our experienced staff are on hand to help especially when families are dining with young children as this can often be stressful. I will pass on your kind comments to Marty, John and Erin.
Hopefully we will see you and the family back soon.
With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took my Mother out for a meal to The Belfray Country Inn for Mother's Day on 30th March 2014.We were seated in the Ballroom which looked lovely.The food was excellent as usual with lots of choice and all the courses were served at the Table. Our Waiter John was very pleasant and helpful.All the Mothers received a lovely primrose to take home which was a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank coco14186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear coco14186482
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience in our Ballroom on Mothers Day. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed our food offering and the service received from John. I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team.
With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have been to the Belfray for a few meals now and have never been disappointed. Today we celebrated Mother's Day an obviously very busy time . The restaurant was full and despite the busy day they service was excellent . Everyone enjoyed their three course meal...the food could not be faulted. highly recommended for traditional food and a friendly atmosphere . You could not be disappointed.

1  Thank pinkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear pinkythecat
Thank you for your wonderful title which is what we strive for. Mothers day was exceptionally busy day for us and it's pleasing to her that we have kept up our standards in both food quality and service. I will let the team know about your kind comments.
With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belfray Country Inn Bistro also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Belfray Country Inn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing