We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“5 Star”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a great B&B with friendly owners. A beautiful building within easy walking distance of Derry. We stayed here for a night at the beginning of June. We stayed in the The Belmont Suite which is a large family room with everything you need, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The towels were lovely and fluffy and there were bath robes and slippers. In the hall there is a a fridge with fresh milk for the in room tea and coffee making facilities. There is also chilled bottles of water and extra tea and coffee if required. There is a vast array of information/leaflets etc. on the area and the owners are very welcoming and friendly offering suggestions on were to eat and go for a drink.
There was a slight problem in the morning with a lack of hot water. We mentioned this at breakfast, received an apology and an explanation that due to the hot weather the central heating had been switched off and they had forgotten to put the immersion on. By the time we had eaten our breakfast which was very good and returned to our room the water was hot. This was a one off and would in no way stop me from returning or recommending this place. On checking out we again received another apology about the water.
The web page for this B&B is good,but in my opinion does not do this lovely place justice.
This is a wee hidden gem reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hello Glasgow,
Thank you for staying at Troy Hall during your short visit from Glasgow to Derry/Londonderry and that you found the Belmont suite to your liking.
Thank you also for being so understanding about our temporary lack of hot water, we have now mastered the timer on our new boiler.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
147
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

All I can say is we so regret not researching more about Derry before we decided to stay as we would have loved to explore the city much more and come back to this AMAZING accommodation.

It's like a 5 star hotel without the price and with the best service!! more than I feel you would get if you stayed in a Hotel, it was the most comfortable we have felt in a B and B on our Journey around Ireland/Northern Ireland!! Loved the little extras like tea, coffee and a small fridge with fresh milk! Breakfast was delicious and filling and im sure any request would have been meet! LOVED the shower want one just like it best shower!! Super comfortable bed and room to die for!! We'll be back can't wait!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezhasleftsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hello E,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you found troy Hall similar to a 5 star hotel without the price and that you describe our accommodation as amazing.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hard to fault this B&B. Grand old home conveniently located within walking distance of central Derry. Large tastefully decorated guest rooms with all the mod cons. Great views into the well maintained grounds and Derry. The highlight was the congenial and helpful hosts, Anne and Michael and of course the full Irish breakfast served in a the lovely dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hello Don,
Many thanks for your "perfect" review and that you enjoyed the Irish breakfast.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Troy hall for 2 nights as a birthday present and we were not disappointed, the old manor house is a hidden gem, full of charm and character, with a lot of homely features.
Michael & Ann are extremely welcoming hosts, very knowledgeable about the area and as you drive up the driveway its like going back in time,
The rooms were exactly as advertised, the room we stayed in was perfect in so many ways, the room was massive with high ceilings, clean, decorated beautifully with bathrobes and slippers provided.
The breakfast was amazing, great atmosphere and lovely for a couples wanting a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAussie0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello Australia,
Much obliged for your excellent comments and really enjoyed our chats about your great country.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was the nicest place we stayed. The rooms are really large and the beds are comfortable. I was traveling with my mother, who has had two back surgeries and requires a good mattress. These ones were great for her. They were top quality and firm. The bathrrom was beautiful and the shower was large and had a rain shower head.

The breakfast was also really nice. I require a gluten free diet and she purchased gluten free muffins for me to have at night with tea and bread and cereal for the morning.

This is a perfect place to stay. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello Salt Lake City,
Much appreciate your kind comments.
We always try our best to facilitate any special dietary requirements of our guests.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I recently stayed in this beautiful B&B for two nights. It is like a hidden country gem in the middle of the city - beautifully restored old house which still feels like a warm and inviting family home. Rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable and attention to detail from tea & coffee facilities & biscuits to fluffy towels and a clean bright room was faultless. Breakfast was also excellent... a proper northern fry up! Would definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deBrun129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello Co. Kerry,
Thank you for your high recommendation and your description of "a hidden country gem in the middle of a city", that's exactly the feeling we hope to promote for our guests.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My daughter and I spent the last night of our Northern Ireland road trip at this beautiful B & B. We stayed in the Rosemount Suite which had a great view of church and Derry beyond. The home has lovely features, full of old world charm. It was too bad it was so cold to enjoy sitting out in the garden. This has been our second trip to Ireland and by far this has been the best B & B we have had the pleasure of staying in, along with the best sleep, given that it was tucked into a quite location, but still close enough to drive into the town centre to enjoy the sights. The room was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. Michael, his daughter and 2 grand children were very gracious hosts, and served up a huge breakfast. Thanks Michael for providing recommendations for eating out and directions back to Dublin to connect for our flight home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello Shelley,
Thank you for describing Troy Hall as the best B and B you have stayed in and that you enjoyed a good nights sleep.
We think we are ideally situated for peace and quiet but not too far from the hub of things.
As we are back form the road and in private grounds we get the feeling of seclusion yet it is only a 20 minute walk ,or 5 minute drive, to the city centre.
Best regards,
Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing