We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City of Culture's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the City of Culture’s best kept secret. The guest house is in part of an old red brick house set in extensive grounds & with views to the city and the Foyle. Easily walkable or a short (but cheap) taxi ride to all city centre attractions. Sensitively & beautifully restored by retired architect Michael. The three guest rooms are fitted to an exceptional standard are cleverly separate from the family living accommodation. The rooms are well supplied with replacement items available from an old dresser on the shared landing. Delicious breakfasts in beautiful surroundings from hosts Michael & Anne. Knocks the socks off the city’s hotels.

Room Tip: All equally attractive
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DMHEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

hello D and MH, Edinburgh,
Thank you for your excellent review.
We hope the secret is not too well kept so spread the word among your friends.
We are only a 20 minute walk along the river to the city or a 5 minute taxi ride,the Derry taxi's are very efficient and are great value, we often recommend them particularly if the weather is a little inclement.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were met at the door by our hosts who were very friendly and just lovely people. The house was amazing! Our room was very large with a sitting area in an alcove with tea, coffee and cookies waiting for us. The bathroom was a good size and clean. There were toiletries available for us to use. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. The hubby had the full Irish, just toast, cereal and coffee for me. I wish we would have had more time to spend at Troy Hall. It is such a wonderful property! We will definitely stay here again. This was the best stay in our Ireland trip.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The Belmont Suite is phenomenal!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello 67 Diane, California,
Thank you for your five star review.
Very good to know you thought Troy hall was the best stay during your visit to Ireland
We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my mother, who had stayed here twice before that. I couldn't possibly understand why she insists on booking at least a few nights at this B&B every time she visits Ireland. Now I understand! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Tea and coffee is always available. The garden is peaceful and beautiful. The house just has so much character! Breakfast is always delicious. It is a short walk from an ATM, a few shops, and a few take out restaurants. Our room had plenty of space to store all if our luggage without us feeling like we are living out of a suitcase! Also, I felt like it was an extremely great value compared to what we paid at a nearby mediocre hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenzieAndDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello again Kenzie and Daniel, California,
Thank you, delighted you felt we are such good value and that you and your mother enjoyed your week with us.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The owners are great and so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing every day.
The room was great, large and so clean. It was also very quiet as well which we really quite liked.
The B&B was close to city centre, so we walked everywhere which is something that was important to us, but they did have private parking as well so having a car was not a problem at all.

Room Tip: The photos are very accurate, we stayed in the Belmont suite which was amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello AmandaW,
it makes us feel our services are very worthwhile particularly when a lovely honeymoon couple give us such a glowing review for such a special occasion.
Thank you so much.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here with our daughter. Our hosts were very kind and helpful. The rooms are exquisite. Clean, bright, beds were so comfortable. They had everything we needed from bathrobes, slippers, coffee/tea in our room etc.
Breakfast was delicious. Probably the best we had in Ireland. We never left hungry.
The location is gorgeous. A bit of a walk into the city center but its like an oasis. Quiet and peaceful with a gorgeous garden.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandHandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello J and H and O,Best regards,
Glad you enjoyed j your stay with us and that you thought that our breakfast was the best you had during your travels on Ireland.
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed the relaxed welcome on arrival.

The grounds and house are both stunning with very large spacious rooms and comfortable beds. The bathroom was modern and well equipped with nice toiletries and towels.

The breakfast was lovely and in a great big cosy room. All in all a great place to stay with very friendly owners who make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smutz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello Smutz, Belfast,
Very good of you to take the time to post a great 5 star review.
Very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Troy Hall in early June & were delighted with the quality of accomadation & welcome at Troy Hall.The rooms were huge & very comfortable & beautifully decorated.This was our first visit to Derry city & we really loved it.We will return for another visit in the near future & we will definitely be staying at Troy Hall as it is also very convenient for access to all the citys attractions & is just across the road from the Ramada Hotel & Da Vincis.All in All Troy Hall is a winner for us !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are huge & can become family type rooms with ease
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JosephGoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello Joseph, Newry,
Gratified we could contribute to the enjoyment of your first visit to Derry, we look forward to your promised return.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,065 reviews
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 44 in Derry
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £89 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing