We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
275
31
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
31
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belmont suite nice sitting area breakfast was delicious close to city centre walled city of derry lovely room short stay scones ireland slippers privacy
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at 12 B&Bs during our 3 weeks in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, and this was by far the nicest place we stayed and by far the best value (considering size, amenities to price). It is exactly as it looks on their website (you know all places aren't :-)).

The B&B in Belfast was more expensive and the rooms were a tiny fraction of the size – we had been spoiled by Troy Hall! We had the Belmont and Culmore Suites and they were perfect. The only regret is that we only stayed two nights. Anne and Michael were lovely hosts - available, but not intrusive.

It is located close enough to the city to walk in via The Quay Trail (although crossing the A2 to get there can be a bit challenging ). Make this your base to explore Northern Ireland and beyond – it will be worth the extra time in the car to return each night. This was simply luxurious and well worth the price. Posh surroundings but a very casual atmosphere - do yourself a favor and stay here – it is a real treat. Wish we didn’t live 4,000 miles away!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Hello TN-Traveler 38017, Tennessee,
We are delight that you enjoyed your visit to Derry and your stay at Troy hall.
It is gratifying that we come out on top for accommodation,value and service when compared to all the other establishments you visited.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for one night but wish it could have been longer. Troy Hall is absolutely beautiful! From the architecture to the beautifully decorated rooms and furnishings inside. Every aspect was fantastic. Our hosts were delightful and very welcoming.

Our room had a beautiful view of the city. Both my friend and I declared when we have our own places we want the owners of Troy hall to decorate our places as everything was furnished so fabulously and still was able to be deliciously comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and luxurious.

In the morning, our hosts served us our choice of breakfast. The breakfast room was spacious yet cozy. The hosts were the quintessential Irish hosts complete with delightful conversations, genuine hospitality, and excellent suggestions to help us along our way. I definitely enjoyed that when Michael served our traditional Irish breakfast he was singing Danny Boy.

After arriving from a day of torrential rain up at Giant's Causeway and soaked through and quite hungry, our hosts steered us across the way to DaVinci's Grillroom which was quite satisfying after such a soggy day. There are other takeaway options across the street from Troy Hall as well.

Troy Hall was easy to find, peaceful, centrally located to the sites of the city and a very decent price. I would recommend Troy hall to anybody looking to stay in Londonderry.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiniki82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Hello Kiniki 82, Washington DC,
Thank you so much for the great review.
We love the idea of a working holiday in Washington so this may be our chance.
As for Michael singing Danny Boy the use of the word 'singing' is a bit of a stretch.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the City of Culture’s best kept secret. The guest house is in part of an old red brick house set in extensive grounds & with views to the city and the Foyle. Easily walkable or a short (but cheap) taxi ride to all city centre attractions. Sensitively & beautifully restored by retired architect Michael. The three guest rooms are fitted to an exceptional standard are cleverly separate from the family living accommodation. The rooms are well supplied with replacement items available from an old dresser on the shared landing. Delicious breakfasts in beautiful surroundings from hosts Michael & Anne. Knocks the socks off the city’s hotels.

Room tip: All equally attractive
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DMHEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

hello D and MH, Edinburgh,
Thank you for your excellent review.
We hope the secret is not too well kept so spread the word among your friends.
We are only a 20 minute walk along the river to the city or a 5 minute taxi ride,the Derry taxi's are very efficient and are great value, we often recommend them particularly if the weather is a little inclement.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were met at the door by our hosts who were very friendly and just lovely people. The house was amazing! Our room was very large with a sitting area in an alcove with tea, coffee and cookies waiting for us. The bathroom was a good size and clean. There were toiletries available for us to use. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. The hubby had the full Irish, just toast, cereal and coffee for me. I wish we would have had more time to spend at Troy Hall. It is such a wonderful property! We will definitely stay here again. This was the best stay in our Ireland trip.

Room tip: Any of the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The Belmont Suite is phenomenal!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello 67 Diane, California,
Thank you for your five star review.
Very good to know you thought Troy hall was the best stay during your visit to Ireland
We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my mother, who had stayed here twice before that. I couldn't possibly understand why she insists on booking at least a few nights at this B&B every time she visits Ireland. Now I understand! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Tea and coffee is always available. The garden is peaceful and beautiful. The house just has so much character! Breakfast is always delicious. It is a short walk from an ATM, a few shops, and a few take out restaurants. Our room had plenty of space to store all if our luggage without us feeling like we are living out of a suitcase! Also, I felt like it was an extremely great value compared to what we paid at a nearby mediocre hotel!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenzieAndDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello again Kenzie and Daniel, California,
Thank you, delighted you felt we are such good value and that you and your mother enjoyed your week with us.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews