We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First time in Ireland”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Troy Hall on our third night in Ireland. When we arrived there, we were warmly greeted by Michael & shown to our room. He had a great sense of humor, too! Our room was very spacious & warmly appointed with a modern bathroom, overlooking the garden. The breakfast room and common area is charming. Breakfast is served to order, and we chose the traditional Irish breakfast, which was very good. When we were leaving the next day, we asked Michael about what would be good for sightseeing on the way to Sligo. He told us the better drive would be after we left Sligo, and recommended the scenic coastal route that also passed through the Connemara Mountains. We took his advice, and that was my favorite driving day for our entire trip. Gorgeous scenes of the coast, the bogs, and the mountains. We both agreed, Troy Hall was our favorite B&B that we stayed at, and almost the best of all the places we stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
147
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for a few relaxing nights in Troy on my 3 rd visit and as usual was very impressed by the lovely convenient setting and great Ulster fry. Great location for easy access to city and Donegal. Fantastic good value restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philipsr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I did enjoy our stay at the Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast this past Janurary. I do wish we would have stayed for longer than a night to really take in the sights of Derry. We were shown our room which was very spacious and came with comfy robes and slippers - that's always a plus in my book. After settling in, we checked in with our host to get some good ideas of where we could go to get some dinner. She suggested Mama Masala. It was a good suggestion as after walking around Derry for an hour or two, it was practically the only non take away food place that wasn't overly fancy - or maybe it was fancy and that could have been why they looked at us sideways when we showed up and asked for a table.

Either ways, this is within walking distance of the peace bridge and the river walk on the west side of Derry. Despite being close and within walking distance of some downtown, it's a very nestled quiet space.

Breakfast in the morning was in this beautiful dining room with many books and tourism magazines for us to browse. It was handy. The decor of the place is a bit outdated, but that adds to the charm. We felt like we were staying in someplace in the 1940's. If you like a place with some history, I highly recommend it. We had a full traditional irish breakfast which wasn't too shabby.

The host was very nice and spoke with us a bit when we asked her questions about the house and it's history. It was pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N03113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Troy Hall for a visit to Derry and chose the hotel because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We certainly agree with them having stayed there. The hotel (which is advertised as a B&B but perhaps has the feel of a small hotel) is a short drive, or long walk, from the city centre. We chose to drive because of the poor weather, and city centre parking was convenient enough. The hotel is one half of a traditional, gothic styled building, set in attractive and enclosed grounds north of the main city centre. The hotelier was extremely friendly and provides a lovely personal welcoming, albeit one which is not intrusive. Our bedroom - the Culmore suite - was spacious and we had a small sitting area as well as a small en-suite. We visited in December and the room was warm, and remained so, despite the single glazing in this old style building. We slept well and were quite comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was good and we dined in a large open plan lounge/dining room with an attractive and warming open fire. Gluten free toast and cereals were available. Our stay was excellent value at £58 for the night for the both of us. Overall, an excellent and unique hotel/B&B in a lovely attractive old style building, convenient to the city centre, a warm and friendly family welcoming, and really good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Culmore suite and found it to be very good (see main review above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Returning home to Derry from Australia for my nieces wedding, we were lucky enough to stay in Troy Hall. I can only describe is as perfect in every way from the warmth of the welcome to the tastefully decorated and very spacious rooms with lovely views. From the minute you enter the winding driveway and the impressive Troy Hall comes into view, you know you are in for a treat. Old fashioned courtesy and charm is a hallmark and Michael was the perfect host. We would have loved to stay longer but will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Chamberlain was the most elegant place I stayed in during a month of travel in Ireland/N. Ireland – yet it was no more expensive than most of the B&B's I visited.

With huge rooms, nice en suite facilities, tastefully appointed furnishings and lovely views...this place is simply a knockout.


Michael, Ann and their charming family overflowed with kindness and cheerfulness, which I really appreciated after a month of solo travel.

Drive into Derry City Center is brief, but you should try to determine (online) where the car parks are located before you venture into town.

Troy Hall is a great bargain while still being luxurious enough to please all but the snobbiest of travelers.

Great time. I will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Kenneth, San Antonio,
This is a great statement from a senior TripAdvisor reviewer, thank you very much.
We have copies of a very good city map which indicates all the car parking and the one way street system. We also keep a small purse handy as some of our guests arrive with no local currency for parking fees. Perhaps we will get a chance to review the free and pay parking areas during your next visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for 2 nights. We stayed in the Belmore suite. Its a huge room with a king size bed and 2 single beds. The single beds are tucked away in the corner behind the ensuite so if you were a family staying there is a little bit of privacy. There is also a lovely seating area in the bay window. The bathroom has a shower big enough for 2. There is a full size kettle in the room and tea coffee and biscuits. There is a small fridge in the communal hall with milk in it and guests could also store items in it if desired. Additional tea/coffee was stored in this area.

I have special dietary requirements which I told them about in advance. A really nice touch was that there were even gluten free biscuits left in the room for me. I also had gluten free bread, sausages and cereals provided at breakfast.

The owners are really chatty and friendly and its obvious they take a real pride in their business.

Our only niggle was that despite there being a number of radiators in the room it was on the cool side. I think this is due to the fact the room is huge with high ceilings and single glazed windows. It wouldn't put us off returning but just thought we'd mention it so if you plan on going you bring some warn pyjamas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello Isabella, Armagh,
Thank you for your 5* review, it is particularly gratifying to receive such praise from an experienced senior TripAdvisor contributor.
Sorry your room was a little cold, we keep a stock of electric back up radiators for quick heat during cold snaps.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 43 in Derry
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Derry
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing